Headquarters make clean sweep of Brummell 10/10 softball competitions

Headquarters male and female softball teams defeated their respective opponents in the finals of the Leroy Brummell 10/10 softball competitions Sunday at the Police Sports Club ground.

In the male final, Headquarters squeezed out a one run win against B Division while Headquarters females defeated A Division by 28 runs.

Leroy Brummell
Leroy Brummell

In the male final B Division batted first and made 87-6 with Michael Newland’s 37, the top score.

Bowling for Headquarters, Kenneth Bahadur took two wickets for 11 runs while Collis Cort, Kevin Archer, Troy Benn and Jason McAlmont took one wicket each.

In reply, Safraz Haniff blasted 44 with four fours and two sixes while Mc Almont chipped in with 26 as Headquarters reached their target for the loss of three wickets.

In the female final Headquarters, batting first scored 104-2 in their allotted 10 overs. Natasha Alder, the eventual best batter and MVP of the match, scored an unbeaten 47 runs with two sixes and five fours.

Nicola Grant supported with 26 an innings that included three fours.

‘A’ Division, in reply, reached 76-8 in their 10 overs with Latoya Rodney making an unbeaten 40 with four boundaries.

Tracy Moses, later adjudged best bowler of the match, picked up 2-11.

The winning teams received $100,000 each.

The defending female champions of the GT&T 10/10 softball competition Trophy Stall Angels, reminded their rivals 4R Lioness that they are second best nationwide after defeating them in an exhibition match.

Trophy Stall batted first and scored 88-8 with Monica Seales, Roxanne DeMonnick and Odassa O’Neil scoring 25, 16 and 15 runs respectively.

Omma Mohabir and Amanda Mohammed picked up 2-6 and 1-15 respectively bowling for 4R Lioness.

The Lioness failed to roar in reply ending on 64-7 from their allotted 10 overs. Tamika Wilson top scored with 19.

Bowling for Trophy Stall Angels, Anisa Persaud and Kavita Yadram each picked up two wickets for 12 runs.

In the male exhibition match, Floodlights defeated the Police Officers.

Floodlights scored 88-7 in their allotted 15 overs with Ricky Deonarine hitting the top score of 32. Shiv Persaud, 2-18, was the most economical bowler for Police who, in reply, were bowled out for 83 in 12.1 overs.

Michael Sutton top scored with 20.

Mike Singh and Rohan Bowen had 3-17 and 3-21 respectively while Wayne Jones had 2-11.

Meanwhile, Acting Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force, Brummell, stated in his speech at the presentation ceremony that he was elated at the support the cricket tournament received and promised that the next tournament in 2014 will be bigger and better.

Sponsors for the tournament were Mark’s Interior Service, Cash Enterprise, K & B Mining, City Mall Inc., Sanjay’s Jewellery, Latchman & Sons Cambio, Mike’s Mahdia, Trophy Stall, Bourda Market, West Demerara Gold and Scott’s Jewellery.

The competition was co-ordinated by Linden Matthews.

More in Sports


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Most Read This Week

  1. Driver in fatal Liliendaal crash on DUI charge

  2. Cap on ministers’ housing allowance was increased to $500,000 in 2015

  3. Teacher who was found with husband’s dead body commits suicide

  4. SOCU actively seeking Brassington, Ashni Singh

  5. Caribbean Container Inc announces 36-month closure of recycling plant

  6. Ramotar defends Brassington, Singh

  7. Pharmacist dies in crash at Liliendaal bridge

  8. Brassington says SOCU was told in April 2016 he’s prepared to co-operate

  9. ExxonMobil seeking range of contractors

Recommended For You