Greaves wins second leg of Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race

Team Roraima’s Alanzo Greaves put on an extraordinary display of speed and stamina to emerge winner of the second leg of the 17th annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race yesterday.

In the searing 88 degree heat, Greaves set the open roads of Berbice ablaze as he sprinted to victory ahead of Team Alanis’ Paul DeNobrega in a thrilling photo finish.

For the 55-mile event which pedaled off in New Amsterdam, proceeded to no. 55 village and returned to Port Mourant for the finish, the national cyclist stopped the clock at two hours`, 17 minutes and three seconds.

Team Coco’s Junior Niles completed the podium while Orville Hinds (Team United), Geron Williams (Continental), and Delroy Hinds (Team United) placed fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

Alanzo Greaves receiving the championship trophy from Minister of Sport, Dr. Frank Anthony. (Orlando Charles photo)
Alanzo Greaves receiving the championship trophy from Minister of Sport, Dr. Frank Anthony. (Orlando Charles photo)

It was Greaves’ second win of the season.

The 25-year old also carted off two sprint prizes.

Two sprint prizes each also went to Delroy Hinds and Godfrey Pollydore while one apiece went to defending champion, Raynauth Jeffrey and Hamza Eastman.

In the initial stages of the race, the 60 starters were all jostling for the advantage but last year’s most successful cyclist (Greaves), Jeffrey and Pollydore were the wheelsmen to succeed.

By Fyrish the lead ballooned to 40 seconds with every powerful turn of the lead trio’s pedals despite the valiant efforts of the chase peloton.

At port Mourant it’s was 47 seconds.

However the chasers led by Geron Williams, Marlon Williams and others changed gears and began to close the gap.

Eventually, the leaders were caught about a mile before the turn back point and the riders were bunch together again.

Greaves who never trailed, caught a second wind and went on a solo attack soon after.

Jeffrey pursued and so did

Delroy Hinds and Geron Williams.

Winners and runners up of yesterday’s event pose with their spoils. (Orlando Charles photo)
Winners and runners up of yesterday’s event pose with their spoils. (Orlando Charles photo)

These four riders rode in unison and created separation from their rivals but were eventually caught about a half mile from the finish.

At this point, the race became quite exciting as a series of solo attacks ensued.

Robin Persaud was the last to jump, Greaves and DeNobrega were lurking and then a fierce bunch sprint started.

At 100m from the line, DeNobrega had a slight advantage and was closing in on victory but Greaves who had displayed tremendous staying power during the trek used his superior sprinting ability to edge out the surging Team Alanis standout.

“I felt good today” said Greaves who won 22 races last year. “My form is coming and hopefully I continue to win.” Greaves who placed second in the first leg also mentioned that he is looking forward to winning the final segment on March 23.

Alonzo Ambrose (junior), Thuran Harris (veteran), Naomi Singh (female) and Clyde Jacobs (Mountain Bike) were also winners in their respective categories.

At the prize giving ceremony which was held at the Jagan Memorial Memorial Monument at Babu John, Port Mourant, organizer of the race, Hassan Mohamed thanked the sponsors, the cyclists and the media for covering the event. He also said that road races in the month of March will be dedicated to the former president.

Notes: After the race, congratulatory remarks were made by Minister of Sport, Dr. Frank Anthony, General Secretary of the PPP, Clement Rohee and others. The final leg will be staged in Essequibo. The first leg was held at West Demerara, it was won by Team Coco’s Michael Anthony.

Jeffrey, last year’s overall winner was also presented with his champion’s trophy yesterday. (Emmerson Campbell)

Latest in Sports


Women’s singles title up for grabs

The Digicel sponsored Guyana Squash Association’s national championships commence this evening at the Georgetown Club with the women’s singles title up for grabs since last year’s champion Nicolette Fernandes will not be defending her crown.

Ryan Hackett of Chase Academy (white/right) trying to maintain possession of the ball while being challenged by an opposing player during his team’s opening fixture in the Digicel Schools Football Championship at the Ministry of Education ground yesterday.

Goalkeeping blunders aid Vergenoengen Secondary

Vergenoegen Secondary overcame a one goal deficit compliments of poor goalkeeping to defeat Leonora Technical Institute (LTI) 3-1 when the Digicel Schools Football Championship continued yesterday at the Leonora Sports Facility.


Stars set to clash on Caribbean turf in high-octane T20

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC– Nail biting encounters and packed venues are predicted while millions from around the world will be glued to television screens as the curtain rises on the fourth edition of an eagerly anticipated HERO Caribbean Premier league (CPL) today.

default placeholder

No sentiment as Murray beats fellow Brit Broady

LONDON, (Reuters) – Second seed Andy Murray showed no mercy to fellow Britain Liam Broady as he launched his Wimbledon challenge with a straightforward 6-2 6-3 6-4 victory yesterday.

Managing Director of Courts, Clyde de Haas, handing over a cheque worth $500,000 to Race and Programme Manager for Crime and Security at CARICOM, Sherwin Toyne-Stephenson.

Courts on board for CARICOM 10K Road Race

Furniture giant, Courts, will collaborate with the Ministry of Education – Department of Culture, Youth and Sport and the Athletics Association of Guyana to stage the 12th annual CARICOM 10K Road Race on Sunday.

default placeholder

Kuznetsova dumps out sinking Wozniacki

LONDON,  (Reuters) – Russia’s Svetlana Kuznetsova got a late birthday present under Wimbledon’s centre court roof  yesterday with a 7-5 6-4 win over former world number one Caroline Wozniacki, who is projected to drop out of the top 50 with the defeat.

Action in the mixed doubles final between Narayan and Priyanna Ramdhani and Jonathan Mangra and Ambika Ramraj.

Young Ramdhani gets better of his father

As expected Narayan Ramdhani and partner Jonathan Mangra defeated Gokarn Ramdhani and Nicholas Ali to win the men’s doubles final of the Guyana Olympic Association Open badminton tournament which concluded Monday at the National Gymnasium.

default placeholder

Warner Park to host CPL final

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados,  CMC-The finals of this year’s Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) have been awarded to St.Kitts and Nevis, organizers announced yesterday.


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Stay updated! Follow Stabroek News on Facebook or Twitter.

Get the day's headlines from SN in your inbox every morning: