Edghill, Britton win U18 titles

—Annual Youth Week TT tournament

Chelsea Edghill claimed the under-18 Girl’s title, defeating Priscilla Greaves 3-0 when the 2014 edition of the National Sports Commission (NSC)/Guyana Table Tennis Association (GTTA) Independence tourney commenced on Friday 16th to Sunday 18th.

Edghill took a 1-0 lead as she claimed the first set by an 11-8 score line. She would double her advantage, clinching the second set 11-5. The victory would be completed as she won the third set by an 11-9 margin. Joint third place positions went to Kristie Lopes and Jamaali Homer.

In the semi-final round, Edghill defeated Homer 11-3, 11-4, 11-4 while Greaves overcame Lopes 11-6, 11-7, 7-11, 11-7.

In the Boys u-18 division, Shemar Britton defeated Elishaba Johnson 11-7, 7-11, 11-8, 11-8 to claim the title. The third placed position was shared jointly by Stefan Corlette and Sheldon Atherly. Britton earned his spot in the final by defeating Corlette 11-7, 11-6, 11-7 in their semi-final matchup.

Johnson earned his berth by defeating Atherly 11-9, 11-6, 8-11, 11-5 in the same round.

In the quarterfinal round, Britton defeated Jeremey Singh 11-6, 11-3, 11-4 while Johnson defeated Kevon Corbin 11-6, 11-8, 11-7.

In the final two matchup of the division, Corlette defeated Kristoff Sukhu 11-7, 11- 9, 11-7 and Atherly defeated Alec Hopkinson 11-2, 6-11, 12-10, 11-9.

In the Boys u-15 division, Kyle Edghill was crowned the champion, defeating E. Johnson 11-5, 11-8, 11-9. The third position was jointly awarded to Khalil Ninvalle and Miguel Wong. In the semi-final round, Edghill defeated Ninvalle 3-0 while Johnson defeated Wong 3-0.

At the quarterfinal stage, Edghill defeated Kaysan Ninvalle 11-4, 11-6, 11-1 while Johnson defeated Tyriq Saunders 8-11, 11-7, 11-7, 8-11, 11-7. The final two matchups in the division saw Wong edging Jeremey Singh 11-13, 11-5, 5-11, 11-8, 14-12 and K. Ninvalle defeating J. DaSilva 14-12, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6.

Chelsea Edghill
Chelsea Edghill
       Shemar Britton
Shemar Britton

In the u-15 Girls section, P. Greaves defeated K. Lopes 11-3, 11-4, 11-5 to clinch title. Joint third place position was awarded Selena Jackson and J. Homer. In the semi-final stage, Greaves defeated Jackman 11-8, 12-10, 11-4 while Lopes defeated Homer 11-4, 11-8, 11-8.

Kaysan Ninvalle defeated T. Saunders 12-10, 14-12, 11-9 to clinch the Boys u-13 title. The third place position was jointly awarded to Kaysan Ninvalle and J. Singh. In the semi-final stage, Saunders defeated Kaysan Ninvalle 9-11, 11-3, 6-11, 12-10, 11-9 and K. Ninvalle defeated J. Singh 9-11, 13-11, 11-3, 11-5.

In the quarterfinal round, K. Ninvalle defeated Nickolas Romain 11-4, 11-4, 11-9 whilst Saunders defeated Amit Mookram 8-11, 11-5, 11-7, 8-11, 11-8. The final two games saw Kaysan Ninvalle edging Terrence Rausch 3-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-8 and Singh overcoming Niran Bissu 11-4, 11-3, 11-3.

In the Girls u-13 section, S. Jackman defeated Nevaeh Clarkston 11-8, 8-11, 11-6 and 11-9 to clinch the title. Aneka Phillips and Brittney Bunbury were awarded joint third place position. In the semi-final round, Jackman defeated Bunbury 14-12, 11-4, 11-3 and Clarkston edged Phillips 11-8, 11-9, 4-11, 11-7.

Niron Bissu claimed the Boys u-11 divisional title, overcoming Kaysan Ninvalle 14-12, 7-11, 11-5, 8-11, 12-10 in a five set thriller. The third place position was jointly awarded to Colin Wong and Joshua Khan.

On the distaff side of the same section, N. Clarkston defeated Abigale Martin 11-8, 11-9, 11-8 and Cieara Sukhu 11-7, 11-2, 11-6 to clinch the title. Claiming second was A. Martin who defeated C. Sukhu 11-4, 11-5, 11-7.

In the Boys u-9 category Kaysan Ninvalle defeated C. Wong 11-1, 11-1, 11-8 to clinch the title. Dhanesh Persaud claimed the third place position. On the distaff side of the same section, C. Sukhu defeated Thuraia Thomas 11-8, 11-3, 11-8 and Chelsea Hutson 11-2, 11-6, 11-9 to claim the title.

Clinching the second spot was Thomas who overcame Hutson 11-5, 5-11, 9-11, 11-4, and 11-8. In the Novices section, Keshon Reese defeated Samuel Woodroffe 11-8, 11-13, 11-8, 11-5 to be crowned champion. Awarded joint third place position were Ashesh Shivraj and Denel Innis.

In the junior Girls doubles finale, the team of C. Edghill and K. Lopes defeated the duo of S. Jackman and N. Clarkston 11-8, 11-5, 11-9. The third spot was jointly awarded to the team of Simran Bissu and B. Bunbury and the duo of J. Homer and P. Greaves.

In the semi-final round, Edghill and Lopes defeated Bissu and Bunbury 3-1 while Clarkston and Jackman edged Homer and Greaves 3-2. The tournament recommences at the same venue on Friday 23rd with the u-21 open from 16:00hrs.

On Saturday 24th at the same venue, the boys and mixed doubles will commence from 10:00hrs while the men and women singles will begin at 13:00hrs. On Sunday the men and women singles will continue at 10:00hrs while the respective finals will commence at 12:00hrs.

Following the conclusion of the event, the presentation of prizes will commence at 17:00hrs.

More in Sports

The Guyana players are ecstatic at becoming overall champs for a 12th successive time.

Guyana crowned overall junior squash champions for 12th time

Despite failing to win the girls team title Guyana yesterday retained the overall team title at the annual junior Maples Caribbean squash championships for an incredible and unprecedented 12th successive year.

Opener Kraigg Brathwaite defends a delivery during his top score of 74 on the third day of the opening Test against India yesterday. (Photo courtesy WICB)

Dowrich shines but Windies battling to avoid defeat

NORTH SOUND, Antigua, CMC – Wicketkeeper Shane Dowrich struck his second half-century in only his third Test but West Indies were staring at a possible innings defeat after being forced to follow-on by India, on the second day of the opening Test here yesterday.

default placeholder

Contrsating wins for Bounty GCC, Hikers and GCC Vintage

Bounty Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), Hikers and GCC Vintage secured contrasting wins when the Lucozade Indoor Hockey Championship continued on Friday at the National Gymnasium on Mandela Avenue.

default placeholder

Riddim Squad, Camptown win by walkovers

Riddim Squad and Camptown secured walkover wins when the Georgetown Football Association (GFA) Stag Beer League continued yesterday at the Georgetown Football Club (GFC) ground in Bourda.

default placeholder

Wolf’s Warriors Masters stop Floodlights

Wolf Warriors Masters secured an upset win over Floodlights Softball Cricket team last Sunday when the Wolf’s Warriors Challenge Cup softball tournament continued at various venues.

23 July 2016; Zouks captain Daren Sammy (C) celebrates the wicket of Ahmed Shahzad (out of shot) as Andre Fletcher (R) completes the catch and Kyle Hope (L) looks on during Match 22 of the Hero Caribbean Premier League St Lucia Zouks v Barbados Tridents at the Daren Sammy Cricket Stadium in Gros Islet, St Lucia. Photo by Ashley Allen/Sportsfile

Sammy stars again as Zouks sink Tridents

GROS ISLET, St Lucia, CMC – St Lucia Zouks closed in on the top four when they cruised to their second straight home win with an easy seven-wicket verdict over Barbados Tridents in the Caribbean Premier League here yesterday.


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Stay updated! Follow Stabroek News on Facebook or Twitter.

Get the day's headlines from SN in your inbox every morning: