Bravo, Roach and Rampaul on the move in ODI rankings

The West Indies’ 3-0 series win against Bangladesh has seen its players march up the Reliance ICC ODI Player Rankings. A record-breaking third-wicket partnership between Denesh Ramdin and Darren Bravo saw the West Indies beat Bangladesh by 91 runs in St. Kitts on Monday to win the third and final ODI of the series.

Bravo and Ramdin put up 258 runs for the third wicket, which is not only the highest third-wicket partnership in ODIs but also the highest partnership for the West Indies for any wicket.

The batsmen made individual contributions of 124 and 169 to West Indies’ total of 338, and have been rewarded with promotions in the Reliance ICC Player Rankings for ODI Batsmen. Bravo has jumped 15 places to land on 34th, while the player of the match and the series, Ramdin, has catapulted 24 places to a career-best 75th position.

For Bangladesh, Tamim Iqbal has reason to cheer as he moved up five places to 31st. Tamim, who scored a total of 118 runs in the three matches, is the fourth highest run-scorer of the series and the highest run-scorer for Bangladesh.

Sunil Narine remains the highest ranked bowler from either side in the ICC Players Rankings for ODI Bowlers. He is firm on second position, 21 ratings points behind number one ranked Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan.

However, Ravi Rampaul has vaulted 13 places to 17th position following his performance of four for 29 in the third ODI. He is also the second highest wicket-taker of the series, having claimed seven victims for 98 runs in the three matches, three wickets behind Bangladesh’s Al-Amin Hossain who took 10 for 170.

On the back of his performance, Al-Amin has broken into the top 100 for the first time in his career, vaulting 24 places to 96thplace.

For his one for 48 in the match and four for 115 in the series, Kemar Roach has also benefitted on the rankings table. He has moved up four places to occupy 16th spot.

Meanwhile, in the Reliance ICC ODI Team Rankings, the series win has seen the West Indies, ranked eighth, gain two ratings points to 96 to close in on New Zealand, which sits in seventh position with 98 ratings points.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, has conceded two ratings points to drop to 69, while retaining ninth spot. It now leads Zimbabwe, in tenth position, by 14 ratings points. A loss to Australia on Monday in the opening match of the triangular series also involving South Africa has seen Zimbabwe drop one ratings point to 55.

There has not yet been any change at the top of the table, even as the top six teams are currently playing ODI cricket. But with the margin  …..To continue reading, login or subscribe now.

Join the Conversation

After you comment, click Post. If you're not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register.

The Comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit/delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity. We moderate ALL comments, so your comment will not be published until it has been reviewed by a moderator.