Dolphin Secondary wins schools U-14 rugby tourney

Dolphin Secondary School won yesterday’s Schools Under-14 Touch Rugby Tournament at the National Park. The tournament was sponsored by the visiting Caribbean Cougars Rugby Club of the United States.

Dolphin Secondary played unbeaten recording five wins in the tournament and also produced the Most Valuable player in Delroy Iles.

The South Georgetown side defeated St. George’s Secondary in their first encounter by one try to nil.

They scored a similar 1-0 win over St. John’s College then edged out South Ruimveldt Secondary by two tries to one.

Dolphin then beat Tutorial High 3-1 and in their final game disposed of Christ Church Secondary by two tries to one.

St. John’s College and St. George’s Secondary both recorded three wins but St. John’s secured the second position by virtue of beating St. George’s during the tournament.

Christ Church placed fourth scoring one win while Tutorial High and South Ruimveldt failed to win as they both played to a 0-0 tie in their encounter.

The day’s result read: Christ Church beat Tutorial 2-0; Dolphin Secondary edged out St. George’s 1-0; St. John’s defeated South Ruimveldt 3-2; St. George’s beat Christ Church 1-0, South Ruimveldt and Tutorial played to a 0-0 draw; Dolphin Secondary triumphed over St.John’s 1-0; St. George’s beat Tutorial 2-1; Christ Church and St. John’s played to 1-1 tie; Dolphin got the better of South Ruimveldt 2-1; St. John’s disposed of St. George’s 2-0; South Ruimveldt beat Christ Church 1-0; Dolphin clubbed Tutorial 3-0; St. George’s nipped past South Ruimveldt 2-1; Dolphin scored a 2-1 win over Christ Church and St. John’s disposed of Tutorial 2-0.

President of the Guyan Rugby Football Union (GRFU) Noel Adonis and Hilbourne Gumbs, addressed the players before the start of the tournament, while members of the Caribbean Cougars assisted in coaching the schools and participated in the presentation ceremony.

The Caribbean Cougars are here as guests of the Yahama Caribs Rugby Club which is celebrating its 15th Anniversary.

The team comprises nationals of Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica.

Around the Web