Reverend Kwame Gilbert and Dr. Vishwa Mahadeo were sworn in as PPP/C parliamentarians when the National Assembly convened yesterday, occupying two seats that had become vacant at the beginning of the year.
Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran announced that Dr. Henry Jeffrey resigned from the post of Minister of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation as of January 1, 2009 while former Minister of Housing and Water, Harrinarine Nawbatt also tendered his resignation.
Ramkarran also informed the assembly that PPP parliamentarian Mohamed Irfaan Ali has been appointed the new Minister of Housing and Water.

Around the Web