Fifteen contenders will be vying for the Mashramani chutney crown in this year’s competition set for February 21 at the Rose Hall Canje Ground in Region Six.

This year’s theme is ‘One Dream, One Celebration, One Design in 2009’, a Government Information Agency (GINA) press release said. The monarch will walk away with $550,000 and a trophy while the second and third place winners will receive trophies along with $350,000 and $250,000 respectively.

Coordinator of the competition Neaz Subhan said a special prize of $50,000 will be given to the best newcomer. He said only one round of competition will be held this year owing to several challenging factors.

The contestants are Dhanasar Danny, James Hing, Levi Nedd, Sandella Craig, Dennis Singh, Dennis Tatpaul, Haresh Singh, Beeshram Jairam, Carlos Williams, Mahindra Harripaul, Thakoordai Paul, Kamal Rampersaud, Rajesh Dubraj, Odranie Ramdial and Pooran Seeraj. The performers will be accompanied by the Shakti Strings Band.
GINA said Girlie Persaud is the 2008 monarch but she has not yet indicated if she would be defending her crown at this year’s contest.

Around the Web