Victories for RHT Pepsi ‘A’ and Bermine, as Gilgeous 10th Anniversary 20/20 Tournament continues

An attractive even half century from skipper and Berbice under 19 player Eon Hooper led Rose Hall Town Pepsi ‘A’ to a crushing nine wicket victory over RHT Pepsi ‘B’ at the Area ‘H’ Ground, when play in the Gilgeous Pawn Shop 10th Anniversary 20/20 tournament continued.

Batting first after winning the toss, the ‘B’ team consisting of mostly under 15 players reached 79 for 8 off their allotted 20 overs with Jamal Brusch top scoring with 17.

Bowling for the ‘A’ team, Terrence Madramootoo (2-8) and Naresh Mahadeo with 2-12 were the principal wicket takers for their team, who reached 80 for 1 from 16.2 overs in reply, thanks to Hooper’s unbeaten on 50 (4×4) and national under 15 batsman Dominic Rickey 12 not out.

Over at the Cumberland ground, Bermine arrested Police by 26 runs.

Batting first, Bermine reached 109 for 6 off their 20 overs, with Steve De Freitas 21 and Trinty Abbensette 17 being the main contributors. Bowling for Police Michael Sampson took 2 for 16 and Rodwell Grant 2 for 11.

In reply Police struggled to 83 for 9 with Ravi Ramkumar hitting 19 and Michael Sampson 14, as Bermine who were brilliant in the field defended their meagre score.

Mark Jackman (2-1) Andel De Younge (2-13) and Trellon Carmichael 2-14 did the damage to the lawmen batting line up for Bermine.

The tournament continues today with second round matches. Bermine will clash with Rose Hall Canje at the Canje Ground, RHT Pepsi ‘A’ meets Blairmont at Rose Hall Town while Scotsburg will travel to Bush Lot Farm to play Kildonan.

The winner of the RHT Pepsi and Blairmont will advance to the finals while the other 2 winners will clash in the lone semi- finals at the Canje Ground next Wednesday.

Around the Web