McKay wins 12th BK International/Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race

Warren “40” McKay continued his impressive run in the saddle after he won the 12th Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race sponsored by BK International yesterday.
McKay, who won in 2007 and placed second to Alonso Greaves last year, won in a time of two hours, 15 minutes and 46 seconds.

Warren “40” McKay out sprints Robin Persaud to take the checkered flag and win this year’s BK International/Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race. (Clairmonte Marcus photo)
Warren “40” McKay out sprints Robin Persaud to take the checkered flag and win this year’s BK International/Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race. (Clairmonte Marcus photo)

The race started at Charlotte Street, New Amsterdam and proceeded to Number 51 Village, Corentyne before finishing at Port Mourant.
Second was Robin Persaud with Geron Williams third.

Christopher Holder and Ian Jackson rounded out the top five places.
When the race got underway the cyclists stayed together until they crossed the Canje Bridge.
After that it was the usual game of cat and mouse but Williams, who seemed determined, wasted no time in getting to the front of the pack.
He was joined by Persaud, Williams, Holder, Jackson and Junior Niles, a bunch that would carry the entire pace of the race.
But, as they closed on the turn back point at Number 51 Village, McKay and Persaud broke loose from the pack.

They remained together up until the sprint finish where McKay utilized his tremendous sprinting ability to take the checkered flag.
He also took three of the eight prime prizes while Persaud took two and Williams, Raymond Newton and Alex Mendes, one each.
After the race, McKay said that he was very comfortable throughout the race and that his aim was to attack from the start.
He said the other riders played right into his plans which made it very easy for him to win the race.
He plans to return to Trinidad and Tobago where he is the captain of the Team Trek Cycle club to prepare for the Southern Games and the West Indies versus the World races.

Meanwhile, in the veteran races which turned back at Hogstye, Kennard Lovell repeated his last year’s performance to take the title ahead of the Benjamin brothers, Gary and Wilbert, who finished second and third respectively.

In the upright category which took place simultaneously with the veterans, Dexter Wilson won from Garfield Lorrimer and Shawn Frank.
Geron Williams was the first junior cyclist to cross the line with Holder and Neil Reece, second and third respectively.
And a special prize was awarded to 76-year-old Edward Williams who was the oldest person to finish the ride.
At the presentation ceremony, BK international vowed to continue its sponsorship of the event since they were pleased with the attendance and performance shown by the cyclists.

Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports, Dr. Frank Anthony, thanked BK International for its continued support for the event, which he said, had become a premier event on the cycling calendar.

Some 47 cyclists completed the event in their respective categories.
The cyclists have another shot at each other on March 22 at West Demerara and March 29 in Essequibo, when the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Civic pedals off two more races to continue its commemoration of former party leader and former President of Guyana, Dr. Cheddi Jagan.

Around the Web