Three Guyanese on Windies Sevens Rugby Squad

Three national rugby players have been named to the West Indies Rugby 12-member squad which will participate in the International Rugby Board (iRB) Hong Kong Sevens tournament which begins later this month.

The players are Albert La Rose, Claudius Butts and England-based Kevin McKenzie.

Trinidad and Tobago-based Guyanese Richard Staglon has been named as a non-travelling reserve.

The other team members are Kelson Figaro and Andre Cabrera of Trinidad & Tobago; Hollis Green of St. Vincent and the Grenadines; Jeremico Cooper and Devon Woodsede of The Bahamas; England- based Jamaicans James Jones, Luther Burrell and Nicholas Fraser; and Tom Healy of Bermuda.

Jones and Fraser will be playing with the team for the first time.

The other non travelling reserves are Joshua Clark and Michael Wilson of the Cayman Islands; Andrew Bain and Duran Beadle of The Bahamas and Jason Clarke and Keron Campbell of Trinidad and Tobago.

Head Coach Joe Whipple will accompany the players.

The team manager is Curtis Nero and the physiotherapist, Martin Varga.

The team, which has just concluded a successful camp in Barbados, which tested fitness and endurance, speed and strength, will regroup to travel to travel to Vancouver in another two weeks to undertake a joint camp with the Canadian national team and to play some vital practice matches before flying to Hong Kong.

The team’s preparation included the Trinidad and Tobago international Invitational Sevens in December last year and the Punta Del Este International Invitational in Uruguay in January of this year.

Around the Web