Chanderpaul cops top honours at WIPA awards

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC – Prolific West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul continued his successful run when he walked away with the West Indies Players Association Cricketer-of-the-Year honour at the annual awards ceremony on Thursday.

It was the second successive year that Chanderpaul won the prestigious award and he beat out threats from Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle and Fidel Edwards for the top honour.

The 34-year old, left-hander also copped the Test Player-of-the-Year award for his consistent batting in the middle order. Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Edwards also competed for this award.

Chanderpaul has scored heavily for West Indies in recent years and continues to lead the International Cricket Council’s batting rankings.

West Indies captain Gayle, meanwhile, edged out Chanderpaul, Bravo and Jerome Taylor to claim the One-Day Player-of-the-Year award.

The left-handed Gayle sits at No. 4 on the ICC One-Day International batting rankings and is fifth in the all-rounders rankings.

Jamaican left arm spinner Nikita Miller captured the first class Player-of-the-Year award for his exploits in last year’s regional tournament while Trinidadian Kieron Pollard, who starred with the bat in the Stanford Twenty20 series, took the regional One-Day Player-of-the-Year award.
He beat out hard hitting Barbadian batsman Dwayne Smith, Leeward Islands all-rounder Omari Banks and T&T leg-spinner Samuel Badree.

Jamaica took the first class Team-of-the-Year award for winning the Carib Beer Shield and Carib Beer Cup in 2008, edging out T&T who have been one of the dominant forces in regional cricket in recent seasons.

Windward Islands all-rounder Keron Cottoy captured the Under-19 Player-of-the-Year honour, nipping Jamaican Andre Creary, T&T’s Kjorn Ottley and fellow Windwards player Dalton Polius.
Barbados copped the Under-19 Team-of-the-Year title after winning the TCL Limited Overs Regional Under-19 Challenge.

Jamaica and West Indies batsman Brendon Nash, who scored a Test century against England last week, took the Emerging Player award for his impressive performances with the bat in regional competitions.

Stafanie Taylor, currently in Australia with the West Indies team at the Women’s World Cup, won the women’s Cricketer-of-the-year award.

Around the Web