Clarke replaces Fraser on Rugby West Indies Hong Kong team

The West Indies Rugby Union (WIRU) has announced one change to the Rugby West Indies team for the iRB Sevens World Series in Hong Kong later this month.
According to a release from the WIRU, Joshua Clarke of the Cayman Islands will replace British-based Jamaican Nicholas Fraser for the March 27-29 tournament.
Fraser the release stated, had become unavailable.
The Rugby West Indies team will now include three UK based players, James Jones currently playing with Sale in the UK, Luther Burrell currently with Leeds, both Jamaicans, and Kevin Mc Kenzie from Guyana, who has recently joined Bracknell in the UK.
Altogether, the team includes three players from Guyana, two from Jamaica, two from Trinidad & Tobago, two from Bahamas, and one each from Bermuda, St Vincent & the Grenadines and Cayman Islands.
The players will converge at Canada’s new high performance centre in Victoria, Vancouver, on Wednesday for a four day camp with Canada’s national team which is also participating in the Sevens World Series.
Head Coach, Joe Whipple, remarked that the trial games were probably the most intense that players have experienced in the Caribbean.
This was endorsed by the players themselves. Whipple added that he believed that the team was the best prepared so far, having played successfully in buildup tournaments in Trinidad & Tobago’s International Sevens in December and the Punta del Este Sevens in Uruguay in January and the GT&T camp in Barbados.
The Rugby West Indies team will arrive in Hong Kong on March 23.
The West Indies team is sponsored by Butterfield Bank, Conyers Dill & Pearman and Guyana Telephone & Telegraph Co (GT&T).
Rugby West Indies Team

Albert La Rose (Guyana)
Claudius Butts (Guyana)
Kevin McKenzie (Bracknell & Guyana)
Kelson Figaro (Trinidad & Tobago)
Andre Cabera (Trinidad & Tobago)
Jeremico Cooper (Bahamas)
Devon Woodsede (Bahamas)
James Jones (Sale & Jamaica)
Luther Burrell (Leeds & Jamaica)
Joshua Clark (Cayman)
Tom Healy (Bermuda)
Hollis Green (St. Vincent & the Grenadines)

Non travelling reserves
Michael Wilson (Cayman)
Andrew Bain (Bahamas)
Duran Beadle (Bahamas)
Jason Clarke (Trinidad & Tobago)
Keron Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago)
Richard Staglon (Guyana)


Joe Whipple (Head Coach) – Barbados
Curtis Nero (Manager) – Trinidad & Tobago
Martin Varga (Physio) – Barbados

Around the Web