GHB shortlists 41 male players to prepare for Caribbean Hockey Cup

The Guyana Hockey Board has shortlisted a 41-member men’s hockey team comprising youth and experienced players in preparation for the upcoming Caribbean Hockey Cup billed for June 22 – 29 in Kingston, Jamaica.

The squad was called just days after 27 women identified by the GHB started training for the regional event that will feature the top four English-speaking Caribbean nations participating in male and female competitions.

Guyana’s men won a bronze at the inaugural tournament staged two years ago in Trinidad and Tobago.

The four countries are Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago and hosts Jamaica.

The team’s success in the Twin Island Republic followed on the heels of their previous outing to the Alba Games in Venezuela earlier in the year where they copped the silver medal losing only to gold medallists Cuba in the tournament.

The squad will be coached by former national midfielder Ivor Thompson and veteran national defender Damon Woodroffe who have replaced Timothy McIntosh who was in charged of the squad in 2007.

President of the Guyana Hockey Board Philip Fernandes said that McIntosh was unavailable to coach the squad this time around but the experienced defender has been drafted into the squad.

Among the experienced players named are Alan Fernandes, Woodroffe, McIntosh, Devin Munroe, Rene Edwards, Robert Fernandes, Askofu and Aderemi Simon, Devin Hooper and Stephen Fernandes.

The young guns include Jason De Santos, Randy Hope, Jason Hoyte, Orlando Semple, Shane Samuels and Marvin Dannet.

The squad will begin training later this week following a meeting planned for GCC ground this evening starting at 19:00 hours.

The players called are: Timothy McIntosh, Azad DeAbreu, Robert Fernandes, Jerazeno Bell, Alex Gouveia, Devin Munroe, Marvin Dannet, Shane Samuels, Rene Edwards, Robert France, Randy Hope,  Shaquille Assanah, Jason Hoyte, Dwight Sullivan, Ascofu Simon, Chris Low-Koan, Aderemi Simon, Tony Cole, John Abrams, Jason Dos Santos, Stephen Fernandes, Orland Semple, Damon Woodroffe, Alan Fernandes, Gregory Garroway, Devin Hooper, Kevin Spencer, Dwayne Scott, Raphael DeGroot, Peter DeGroot, Stuart Gonsalves, Chris Xavier, Andrew Xavier, Philip Xavier, Shaka Gill, Leonard George, Michael Xavier, Andy Sampson, Jermaine Murray and  Deon Carew.

Around the Web