Sri Lanka’s batsmen dominate India in test

GALLE, Sri Lanka,  (Reuters) – Opener Tharanga  Paranavitana hit a maiden test hundred and Kumar Sangakkara  recorded his 22nd as Sri Lanka dominated India’s bowlers on the  opening day of the first test at the Galle Stadium yesterday.

Paranavitana was unbeaten on 110 while Sangakkara hit 103 as  Sri Lanka reached 256 for two before rain halted play just eight  overs into the final session.

Both batsmen were let off the hook by India’s fielders —  Sangakkara was dropped on 65 by wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh  Dhoni when the Indian captain failed to hold onto an edge.

Sri Lanka captain Sangakkara took full advantage of the  let-off and reached his century shortly before the tea break.

Paranavitana, his patient partner, survived a chance when  Gautam Gambhir failed to hold onto a reflex catch on 35.

Sangakkara fell when he failed to middle a bad ball from  Virender Sehwag and was caught by Sachin Tendulkar.

Tillakaratne Dilshan was the sole Sri Lankan wicket to fall  in the morning session when he attempted to hook a short  delivery from test debutant Abhimanyu Mithun and gloved a catch  to Dhoni on 25.

Sri Lanka off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan is making his  final test appearance and needs eight wickets to become the  first bowler to take 800 test wickets.


Sri Lanka first innings
T. Paranavitana not out                                                 110
T. Dilshan c Dhoni b Mithun                                           25
K. Sangakkara c Tendulkar b Sehwag                       103
M. Jayawardene not out                                                     8
Extras: (lb-6, nb-4)                                                             10
Total: (2 wickets; 68 overs)                                          256
Fall of wickets: 1-55 2-236
To bat: T. Samaraweera, A. Mathews, P. Jayawardene, L. Malinga, M. Muralitharan, R. Herath, C. Welegedara.
Bowling: Sharma 14-3-79-0 (4-nb), Mithun 13-2-41-1, Singh 17-3-41-0, Ojha 17-1-66-0, Sehwag 7-0-23-1
India team: MS Dhoni (captain), G. Gambhir, V. Sehwag, R. Dravid, S. Tendulkar, V. Laxman, Y. Singh, H. Singh, I. Sharma, P. Ojha, A. Mithun.

Around the Web