Bishoo is GCB’s Cricketer-of-the-Year

It pays to be a leg-spinner for Guyana after the Guyana Cricket Board last night named leg-spinners Devendra Bishoo and Amir Khan the senior and junior Cricketers-of-the-Year at their annual awards ceremony held at the Umana Yana.

Bishoo had an outstanding year which saw him participating in the Airtel Champions League tournament in South Africa where he snared the prized scalp of India’s batting great Sachin Tendulkar when Guyana played the Mumbai Indians.

Prize winners, GCB officials and other participants at last night’s Guyana Cricket Board awards ceremony at the Umana Yana.( Orlando Charles photo)

Bishoo was also named last night senior regional Cricketer of the Year.
He received the Clive Lloyd Trophy.

Khan, a former West Indies Under-15 leg-spinner, apart from being adjudged junior Cricketer-of-the-Year, was also named the West Indies U-19 Bowler-of-the-Year for his 27 wickets.

Shemaine Campbelle got the nod for female Cricketer-of-the-Year while Royston Crandon was voted the domestic senior Cricketer-of-the-Year.
Rajindra Chandrika was voted the Most Improved Cricketer. (See full details in tomorrow’s issue.)

Around the Web