Four new leaders for next CARICOM summit

When the Thirty-second regular meeting of CARICOM  Heads of Government is convened in Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis next month four new leaders in the region are expected to be in attendance.

The opening ceremony on June 30 will see and hear from the new President of Haiti Michel Martelly, the new President of Suriname Desi Bouterse  and the new Prime Minister of Barbados Freundel Stuart during the opening ceremony in the Cecil Jacobs Auditorium at the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, according to a press release from the Office of the St. Kitts Prime Minister.

Michel Martelly

The Basseterre meeting will welcome the re-election of the Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines Dr Ralph Gonsalves who will also speak at the opening ceremony.

And also speaking will be Bermuda’s new Premier Pamela Cox.

Acting Secretary General of CARICOM,  Ambassador Lolita Applewhaite, outgoing Chairman of the Conference of the Heads of Government Prime Minister of Grenada Tillman Thomas, and incoming Chairman Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr. Denzil Douglas will also speak at the opening ceremony. St. Maarten’s first Prime Minister Sarah Wescott-Williams is also scheduled to attend the opening ceremony in Basseterre.

The Plenary and Caucus sessions will be held from July 1 to 4 at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort, Frigate Bay, the release added.

Around the Web