Sinclair selected as RHTY&SC Cricketer of the Year

Berbice ‘A’ player Jason Sinclair has been named 2010 Cricketer of the Year for the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC).

Sinclair will be awarded when the RHTY&SC hosts its 21st annual Awards Ceremony at the JC Chandisingh Secondary School on April 4.

According to a release from the RHTY&SC, Sinclair scored close to 800 runs at the First Division level and claimed 27 dismissals as the club’s stand-in wicket keeper when Delbert Hicks was unavailable.

A total of 36 awards will be presented at the RHTY&SC awards event, including Disciplined Member of the Year, Most Promising Cricketer, Most Committed Member, Female Cricketer of the Year, Worker of the Year and Fielder of the Year.

Among the cricketers to be honoured are national U-15 captain Shawn Pereira, Loyydel Lewis, West Indies female players Shemaine Campbelle and Erva Giddings, Nermala Sewdat, senior national captain Assad Fudadin and Royston Crandon.

Former national wicket keeper Delbert Hicks will be honoured for 13 years of service to the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club and will receive his benefit year in 2011.

Managing Director of Ansa McAl (Guyana) Beverley Harper is slated to be the guest speaker.
The release added that RHTY&SC Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster will present the 2010 Report while close to $2 million in trophies, medals, gifts and prizes will be distributed.

The club will also honour its official sponsors and members of the media, along with 48 students drawn from nine schools in the Lower Corentyne under the club’s 5th Annual Outstanding Students Awards Scheme.

Around the Web