Greaves wins final Cheddi Jagan Memorial race

Alonzo Greaves rode to victory in the final race of the Dr Cheddi Jagan Memorial series of 50-mile cycle road races held yesterday at Essequibo.

Greaves repeated his winning performance in the event last year and was just over a minute shy of beating his previous winning time when he completed the Essequibo stage of the race in a time of two hours, 13 minutes and 12 seconds (2:13:12).

The race commenced from Supenaam at 09:00 hours, proceeded to Charity and returned to Anna Regina for the finish.

The Veteran, Upright and Female cyclists started at Anna Regina and proceeded to Charity before returning to Anna Regina for the finish.

Alonzo Greaves

Greaves was followed across the finish line by Walter Grant-Stewart, who finished second and Enzo Matthews, third. Ian Jackson, junior cyclist, Paul DeNobrega and Junior Niles finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively to close out the prize winning positions in the senior category.

DeNobrega won the junior category once again, (he was also last year’s winner) while Kurt Larose and Davenand Bissoon were second and third respectively.

The Veterans race was won by Mark Spencer, who limited Kennard Lovell to second and last year’s  winner Linden Blackman to third position.

Ricky Kissoon was the winner of the Upright category with Dexter Wilson and Garfield Lorrimer second and third respectively, while Naiomi Singh was the lone female rider and took the top prize in the female category.

Walter Isaacs was also awarded for being the first Veteran over 60 years to cross the finish line.

At the presentation ceremony that followed, prizes were presented to the top performers in addition to sprint prizes, which went to Greaves (four), Niles (two) Jackson (one) and Raymond Newton (one).

Around the Web