East Bank players qualify to join Demerara teams

The East Bank Cricket Association says several of its players qualified for promotions to the Demerara teams over the past season, at a meeting hosted on Thursday evening to elect a new executive.

The Association made some sweeping changes in electing it’s the new board for the 2011-2012 season. Rohan Sarjoo was elected president, Deonarayan Debidial and Johnny Azeez, vice president; Mohamed Baksh, secretary; June Ogle-Thomas, assistant secretary; Anand Kalladeen, treasurer; Naseer Jabbar, assistant treasurer and Olufemi Sandy, competition chairman. Dave Singh, Raymond Jaisingh, Mukesh Dass, Rudy Jairam and Narendra Puran were elected committee members, Ray Persaud, marketing manager; Junior Williams, public relations Officer and Shawn Richmond and Chris Khanai trustees. The meeting also recognised players from the East Bank who qualified for various county and nations teams during the past season. Daniel Barker and Omar Persaud made the Demerara 15 team, John Paton, the Demerara 19 team, and Prudence Williams, Abina Parker, Hema Singh and June Ogle-Thomas made the women’s Demerara team. Ogle-Thomas was also appointed Captain of the Demerara women’s team for the 2011 Inter-County Competition and Vice-Captain of the Guyana team for the 2011 West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) regional female competition that started yesterday. Williams and Parker also made the Guyana women’s team.

The Association organised three competitions during the 2010/2011 season: the Neviel Sarjoo 40 Overs Cup, the Goodwood Racing Service 40 Overs Cup and the Persaud Twenty20.

However, due of the unavailability of grounds on the East Bank, the association was only able to host the first contest, sponsored by Sarjoo, president of the Association. The semi-finals and final of this competition were played at the DCC Ground in Georgetown, courtesy of DCC president Albert Mentore.

The Diamond Cricket Club emerged victorious, followed by North Soesdyke.  The other two contests are still ongoing. The Goodwood match is at its semi-final stage with Nandy Park SC challenging Eccles A SC. The winner is set to play Soesdyke Uprising CC who Defeated Diamond SC in the other semi-final. Meanwhile, the Persaud Twenty20 contest is at its super eight stage.

Around the Web