Mendis records best figures in T20 internationals

KANDY, Sri Lanka, (Reuters) – Spinner Ajantha Mendis  produced the best figures in Twenty20 internationals yesterday  to bowl Sri Lanka to an eight-run win over Australia at the  Pallakele Stadium and a 2-0 series win.

Mendis bemused the Australian batsman to finish with six for  16 off four overs, including a maiden. He is the first bowler to  take six wickets in the shortest form of the game.

Australia did well to contain Sri Lanka to a total of 157-9  but were restricted themselves to 149-9 after Shane Watson had  got them off to a flying start with 57 off 24 balls including  five sixes and six fours.

Ajantha Mendis

Watson and David Warner (16) put on 71 for the first wicket  before an inspired piece of fielding by Angelo Mathews on the  boundary line to dismiss Warner started a sensational Australian  collapse.

Mathews took the catch and, before stepping over the  boundary, threw the ball to Mahela Jayawardene 30 metres away to  give Mendis the first of his six wickets.

Australia slid to 113-6 but skipper Cameron White kept their  hopes alive with 39 off 33 balls before he fell in the final  over with Australia needing 14 for victory.

Sri Lanka’s innings was held together by a superb knock of  86 off 64 balls with one six and 12 fours by Mahela Jayawardene.
John Hastings put a brake on the Sri Lankan run rate by  grabbing three wickets for 14 runs as Sri Lanka lost six wickets  for 36 runs in the last six overs.

Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan said Mathews’ moment  of brilliance had turned the match.
“We knew one or two wickets and we could put pressure on  them. We were hanging in, and waiting for a breakthrough,” he  said.

Mathews said his reaction had been “pure instinct”.
“I just saw Mahela and went for it. I wasn’t looking at the  boundary, I just wanted to take the catch and relay it to Mahela  after I saw it,” he said.


Sri Lanka innings 
M Jayawardene c Hussey b Lee                       86
T Dilshan lbw b Lee                                               4
D Chandimal c and b Smith                             13
T Perera c Watson b Johnson                              9
K Sangakkara c White b Hastings                  24
J Mendis b Hastings                                               1
A Mathews b Hastings                                          5
D Perera c Smith b O’Keefe                                  0
N Kulasekara b Lee                                               4
R Herath not out                                                   1
A Mendis not out                                                   0
Extras: (lb-2, nb-1, w-7)                                   10
Total: (nine wickets, 20 overs)                     157     
Fall of wickets: 1-23 2-66 3-75 4-121 5-123 6-131 7-137  8-150 9-152.
Bowling: Lee 4-0-39-3 (w-1, nb-1), O’Keefe 4-0-33-1, Johnson  4-0-35-1, Smith 3-0-27-1, Hussey 1-0-7-0 (w-1), Hastings  4-0-14-3 (w-1)

Australia innings    
S Watson c T Perera b A Mendis                        57
D Warner c Jayawardene b A Mendis            16
D Hussey b Herath                                                 2
S Marsh st Sangakkara b A Mendis                   0
C White b T Perera                                                39
S Smith b A Mendis                                               12
B Haddin b A Mendis                                              0
M Johnson b A Mendis                                            7
S O’Keefe run out                                                      1
J Hastings not out                                                    3
B Lee not out                                                              4
Extras: (b-4, lb-2, nb-1, w-1)                                8
Total: (nine wickets, 20 overs)                         149  
Fall of wickets: 1-71 2-73 3-73 4-75 5-113 6-113 7-129 8-131  9-144.
Bowling: Kulasekara 3-0-26-0 (nb-1), T Perera 2-0-21-1, D  Perera 3-0-26-0, Herath 4-0-31-1 (w-1), A Mendis 4-1-16-6, J  Mendis 4-0-23-0.

Around the Web