BCB/Republic Bank U-17 inter-zone cricket tournament bowls off Sunday

The Berbice Cricket Board/Republic Bank Under-17 inter-zone cricket tournament bowls off on Sunday with Lower Corentyne playing Upper Corentyne and New Amsterdam/Canje taking on West Berbice from 09:30 hrs.

Port Mourant Community Centre ground would host the New Amsterdam/Canje/West Berbice match while the other game will be played at the Area H ground.

Hakeem Hinds will lead New Amsterdam/Canje and will be looking for major support from national Under-15 player Shimron Hetmyer, Nial Smith, Keirre Henry, Leon Andrews and Kwesi Mickle.

Former national Under-15 player Quacy Mc Pherson will be leading the West Berbice team which has Nick Ramsaroop as its vice-captain. Some notable names in the lineup are Parmanand Ramdhan, Royston Wade, Grisean Grant and Paul Dipnarine.

Defending champion Lower Corentyne has players of the calibre of Nicholas Cameron, Shailendra Shameer, Arif Chan, Gudakesh Motie Kanhai, David Latchya, Daniel Lewis and Sharaz Ramcharran. However, much is not known about players in the Upper Corentyne team.

However, players like Sean Persaud, Deon Esau, Rajesh Mohabir and Devendra Ramsaroop can prove problematic for the Lower Corentyne team.

Meanwhile, officials of Republic Bank are expected to meet the teams before the matches. Chairman of the Berbice Cricket Board Special Events Committee Hilbert Foster stated that the four inter-zone teams were selected based on performances in the Memorex/Leslie Amsterdam Under-17 inter-club cricket tournament.

Teams – Upper Corentyne: Sean Persaud, Devendra Budhoo, Tameshwar Kumar, Rishi Persaud, Akash Persaud, Rabindranauth Edwin, Devendra Ramsaroop, Mahendra Roopram, Everson Williams, Devendra Chandradat, Rajesh Mohabir, Mohamed Deochand, Deon Esau, Joshua Rawlins and Vienna Gooniah.

New Amsterdam/Canje: Leon Andrews, Shimron Hetmyer, Suresh Dhanai, Hakeem Hinds, Joseph Giddings, Wagar Mc Kenzie, Kwesi Mickle, Marlon Shepherd, Adrian Persaud, Clifton Lindie, Ameer Khan, Nial Smith and Keirre Henry.

West Berbice:  Quacy Mc Pherson, Nick Ramsaroop, Avishram Sewkarran, Ridwan Ramjohn, Derek Narine, Brian Nurse, Parmanand Ramdhan, Khemchand Persaud, Royston Wade, Grisean Grant, Thomas Mc Donald, Latchana Ramoo, Amar Nandram and Paul Dipnarine.

Lower Corentyne: Madan Budhram, Nicholas Cameron, Rohan Harripersaud, Sharaz Ramcharran, Arif Chan, David Latchaya, Daniel Lewis, Gudakesh Motie Kanhai (captain), Shailendra Shameer, Manoj Looknauth, Youraj Rambarran, Jamie Anderson, Tameshwar Harrinarine and Raju Singh.

Around the Web