El Dorado Inter-County action continues today

The final round of the 2011 Senior El Dorado Inter-County tournament commences today with two matches to decide which teams will contest the September 25 final at the Albion Community Center Ground.

In the top of the table clash, leaders Demerara who humbled rivals Berbice by seven wickets at Everest on Sunday, will tackle the President’s XI at the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) while Berbice will lock horns with competition strugglers Essequibo at the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC).

A victory (four points) in that match along with Demerara toppling President’s XI will be enough for the Berbicians to qualify for the final in their home county.

Spinners have played a major wicket-taking role for all the sides in this competition, claiming 37 off the 55 wickets to fall with off-spinner Zaheer Mohammed 5 for 28 for Demerara versus Essequibo being the best figures of the competition so far.

In the batting Royston Crandon and  Johnatan Foo from Berbice, Leon Johnson from Demerara, Norman Fredericks from Essequibo, Sewnarine Chattergoon and Chanderpaul Hemraj from the President’s X1 are the individuals who have scored half-centuries.

Leon Johnson who is the Demerara skipper has the highest individual score of 67 versus Essequibo and also the highest batting aggregate and average in the competition of 110 from two innings at an early Bradmanesque average of 110.

Demerara squad: Leon Johnson (captain), Shemroy Barrington, Trevon Griffith, Gajanand Singh, Vishaul Singh, Robin Bacchus, Zaheer Mohaned, Amir Khan, Joseph Perry, Paul Wintz, Kellon Charmichael, Andre Still, Totaram Bishun, Elton Baker, Orin Bailey (Coach), Sherlock Atwell (Manager).

Berbice squad: Assad Fudadin (captain), Richard Ramdeen, Narsingh Deonarine, Royston Crandon, Jonathan Foo, Rajiv Ivan, Anthony Bramble, Devon Clements, Eugene La Fleur, Steven Latcha, Shawn Perriera, Krisendat Ramoo, Michael Newland, Keon Joseph, Assad Fudadin, Adrian Amsterdam (Coach).

Essequibo squad: Ransford Beaton (captain), Rovindra Parseram, Herrel Greene, Herry Greene, Yougeshwar Lall, Anthony Adams, Norman Fredricks, Royan Fredricks, Ricardo Adams, Tulsieram Permnauth, Tyron Narine, Kevin Gorden, Jason Helliger, Kevin Boddie. Vibert Johnson (Coach), Aotto Christiani (Manager).

President’s XI: Travis Dowlin (captain) Sewnarine Chattergoon, Artly Bailey, Kristna Deonarine, Steven Jacobs, Dion Ferrier, Dexter Solomon, Raj Nanan, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Keyon Fraser, Joshua Wade, Clinton Pestano, Vijai Sureshpaul, and Jomal La Fleur.
Points Standing:
Demerara                – 8
President’s XI       – 7
Berbice                    – 4
Essequibo               – 2

Around the Web