WI grouped with Australia for 2012 World T20

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates,  CMC – The International Cricket Council announced yesterday the match schedule and unveiled the event logo of the World Twenty20 Championship to be staged in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7 next year.

West Indies will open the competition against long-standing rivals Australia on Saturday, September 22 at the Premadasa Stadium in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo.

The Caribbean side has been drawn in Group-B along with the Aussies and one of the two ICC Associate/Affiliate nations that qualify for the tournament.

The two qualifiers will advance from the qualifying competition, which will be staged in the United Arab Emirates from March 13 to 24 next year.

West Indies face the Associate/Affiliate qualifier in the penultimate match of the preliminary round on Monday, September 24 at the Premadasa.

Reigning champions England will start their title defence at the same venue against one of the qualifiers.
The hosts will open their campaign against Zimbabwe under lights on Tuesday, September 18 in Hambantota.

The women’s competition will again be played simultaneously with the men’s tournament like it was last year in the Caribbean.

The group stages will take place in Galle, where West Indies Women will meet last year’s losing finalist New Zealand on September 26, the first day of women’s matches.

The Windies Women have been drawn in Group-B alongside the New Zealanders, hosts Sri Lanka, and a qualifier.

Title-holders Australia will start their push for back-to-back trophies against India on September 27.
A total of 42 matches, including 27 men’s and 15 women’s matches, will be played over 20 days at four venues – the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Pallekele, Hambantota, and Galle, with the Premadasa Stadium hosting the Finals of both competitions on Sunday, October 7.

Men’s group stage
Group A – England, India, Qualifier 2
Group B – Australia, West Indies,

Qualifier 1
Group C – Sri Lanka, South Africa,
Group D – Pakistan, New Zealand,

Tues 18 Sep – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe,

Wed 19 Sep – Australia v Q1, Colombo

Wed 19 Sep – India v Q2, Colombo

Thurs 20 Sep – South Africa v Zimbabwe,

Fri 21 Sep – New Zealand v Bangladesh,
Fri 21 Sep – England v Q2, Colombo
Sat 22 Sep – Sri Lanka v South Africa,

Sat 22 Sep – Australia v West Indies,
Sun 23 Sep – Pakistan v New Zealand,
Sun 23 Sep – England v India, Colombo
Mon 24 Sep – West Indies v Qualifier 1,
Tues 25 Sep – Pakistan v Bangladesh,

Around the Web