Digicel Golf Classic tees off today

An intense two days of  golf  is anticipated when Guyana’s  mobile telecommunications provider Digicel and the Lusignan Golf Club team up for the  third Annual Digicel Golf Classic at Lusignan Course today and tomorrow.

Close to 50 golfers are expected to take part including last year’s men’s winner Roy Cummings who will be looking to wear the Red Jacket for a second year in a row.

A new champion will be crowned in the female category due to the departure from Guyana of last year’s winner Rita Heikens.
The tournament is being regarded as a dress rehearsal for the Guyana Open championships set for next weekend several overseas players are expected to take part.

Gregory Dean

Digicel Chief Executive Officer Gregory Dean will tee off the tournament at 11: 45 hours while play will get underway at 08:30 hours tomorrow.

Among the players battling for top honours are reigning Guyana Open men’s and women’s champions Avinash Persaud and Christine Sukhram.

The field will also include  Mohanlall Dinnanauth, Deonarine Dinnanauth, Imran Khan,  Ian Gouveia, Patrick Prashad, Esau Shamshudin,  Chatterpaul Deo, Rawle Moore, Troy Cadogan, Joaan Deo,  Mike Mangal, Hilbert Shield, Sookram Deosarran, Colin Ming, Brian Gladford, Jerome Khan, Maurice Solomon, John Tracey, Brian Hackett, Munaff Arjune, Robert Hanoman, Mike Gayadin,  Bruce Cummings, Andre Cummings, Ayube Subhan, William Walker, Kasim Khan, Kishun Bacchus, Avinda Kishore, Bhowlaram Deo, Dr. Ram Singh, Mark Lashley, Alfred  Mentore, Carlos Adams, Clifford Reis, Vijay Deo, Muntaz Haniff, and  Fazil Haniff.

Prizes will be awarded to the top five overall best gross over the two days and the best ladies player.

There will also be prizes on both days for the lowest net, lowest gross, longest drive and Nearest to the Pin.

Around the Web