Confident T&T leaves for Guyana today

A confident Trinidad and Tobago cricket team just back from the Nokia Champions League will leave the twin island republic this morning
for Guyana where they will compete for the Clive Lloyd Trophy in the regional limited overs cricket tournament.

Daren Ganga’s men will leave these shores at 7.30am for Georgetown and will be in action from as early as tomorrow when they come up against the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) team at Bourda.

T&T returned home last week from India after competing in the Nokia Champions League T20 series.
The regional team failed to reach the semi-finals after two wins and two losses.
Manager of the team Omar Khan said yesterday a lot will be expected of his team.
“We have shown that we can compete at the international level and now returning to a regional competition we will be expected to dominate.

Dwayne Bravo

“The boys can handle the pressure of expectation because they have shown in the past that they are capable of coming through under pressure.

“We showed in India that this is a team of substance and we are looking to go out there and win this regional 50 overs tournament.”
All rounder Dwayne Bravo is back in the T&T ranks after playing for the Chennai Super Kings in the Champions League.

“We are welcoming back to our team, Dwayne Bravo who did not play for us in India. He is a tremendous team player and one capable of lifting his fellow players.We are really looking forward to having him around and this would help with so many young players in the team.
“The team will be further strengthen by the return of all rounder Keiron Pollard and the inform Lendl Simmons when the limited overs aspect of the West Indies tour of Bangladesh ends.”

That final game in the West Indies/Bangladesh limited overs series takes place today in Bangladesh. Simmons and Pollard will the make their way to Guyana for the rest of T&T matches.

T&T team: The squad is: Daren Ganga (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Stephen Katwaroo, Samuel Badree, Sherwin Ganga, Imran Khan, Sunil Narine, William Perkins, Justin Guillen, Jason Mohammed, Kevon Cooper, Dave Mohammed, Kieron Pollard, Derone Davis, Lendl Simmons, Rayad Emrit, Omar Khan (Manager), Kelvin Williams (Coach).

Around the Web