Robin Persaud wins senior 25-lap feature event at Amelia’s Ward Circuit

National cycling captain Robin Persaud rode off with the feature senior 25-lap event at the October Cycle Fest 15-race meet at the Amelia’s Ward Circuit in Linden last Sunday.

The meet which was sponsored by Yohann Buchard of ROSABEL Gold Mines Inc. attracted top local cyclists as well as boys, girls, seniors and veteran riders from age six to 50 years.

Trophies were awarded to the top three finishers in each of the races except for the 25-lap feature race in which the top six riders were awarded cash and trophies.

Persaud led Marlon ‘Fishy’ Williams, Albert Philander and three Lindeners, Rastaf Oselmo, Michael Nelson and Mark Lewis respectively, to complete the top six finishers.

Prime prizes went to Persaud who copped two while three primes went to Williams and two to Philander.

Prizes were also awarded to the Oselmo, Nelson and Lewis for being the top three finishers in the feature event.

Persaud returned to win one of the unknown distance events ahead of Orville Hinds and Warren ‘40’ McKay, the second and third place finishers respectively.

Williams sped away with the other unknown distance event while McKay was second and  Godfrey Pollydore finished third.

In other races, Lewis pedaled in ahead of Pollydore and McKay to win the seniors (Category One & Two) seven-lap event.

The juniors/juvenile five-lap race was won by Akeem Arthur and  Gordon Sampson was second while Michael Anthony and Paul DeNobrega settled for third and fourth respectively.

 Oselmo took top honours in the Bauxite Flyers race while  Oselmo was followed by Lewis and Orville Hinds respectively.

The mountain bike race was won by Tramaine Beckles, with Mario King placing second and Keon Thomas crossing the finish line in third.

 On the distaff side, Hazina Bharrat won the five-lap event ahead of Marcia Dick and Naomi Singh. Bharrat also returned to take the two-lap event again pedaling in ahead of Dick and Singh respectively.

The veterans four-lap race was won by Phillip Piggot while Virgil Jones was second and Gary Blair third.

In the Category Three and Four event, Akeem Arthur was  first ahead of Orville Hinds, Michael Anthony and Oselmo respectively.

The five-lap boys 14-years-and-over race was won by Randy Haynes while Jornel Yearwood pedaled in second and Aquel Henry was third.

Elijah Jeffrey won the BMX boys 12 to 14 years one-lap event ahead of Shaquille Campbell with Aquel Henry again finishing behind the top two finishers.

Deshaun Richardson crossed the finish line ahead of Jamal Arthur and Denzil Huntley respectively to win the BMX six to nine years one-lap race.

Huntley, however, returned to win the BMX boys nine to 12 years sprint, outsprinting Sylvon Lewis who was second  and Jamal Arthur third.

Around the Web