K&S 2011/12…BK Western Tigers begins campaign

Action in the 22nd annual Kashif and Shanghai tournament continues this evening with a double-header at the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) Ground from 18:30hrs.

The opening game will see Grove Hi. Tec facing Netrockers, before 2009 champions BK Western Tigers and Amelia lock horns to conclude the night’s encounters.

In a brief comment to Stabroek Sport, Western Tigers club Secretary Dexter Cush highlighted that the 22-man squad has been training intensely at the community training ground in West Ruimveldt in recent days and that in the camp spirits are high with the team expectant of victory over reigning Upper Demerara Football Association (UNFA) Amelia’s Ward.

Along with Linden side Milerock, Netrockers FC are one of the foundation teams of the tournament from the inaugural 1990-91 season and their best performance came in 2001/02 season when they lost in the final to Victoria Kings. Due to their longevity in the competition they will start favourites against Grove Hi-Tec who are playing in the competition for the second time.

The 20 participating teams are vying for the coveted prize of one pound of gold, valued at $4M, compliments of Aruwai Enterprise Inc., while the runner- up team is guaranteed $ 1M. The third and fourth placed finishers will pocket $ 500,000 and $ 300,000 respectively, while the Most Valuable Player will receive a motor- cycle.

Western Tigers squad: Dwayne Ali (captain), Derrick Carter, Travis Bears, Christopher Williams, Sherman David, Jarrell Tyrell, Travis Martin, Wendell St. Hill, Nedd Fraser, Ryan Adolph, Giddeon Payne, Randolph Wagner, Ryan Thomas, Delon Wilburg, Nyron Richardson, Lorenso Duebury, Devon Jeffers, Troy Heliger, Gordon Henry.

Netrockers FC squad: Tony Adams (captain), Colric Beckles, meion Wills, Kenard Archibald, Delon Young, Deshawn Joseph, Ordane Wills, Michael Williams, Marvin Benn, Rodrick Richards, Neashawn Hazel, Ray fraser, Rawle Hensford, Leonard Jonson, Clarence Huggins, Keon Bristol, Denzil Price, Mertimer Wills, Gari Gomes, Darius Frank, Deon Tryrell, Oswin Hope.

Grove Hi Tech squad: Levi Braithwaite (captain) , Rondell Alleyne, Michael Matthews, Shermon Doris, Kevin Alleyne, Sherlon Williams, Delroy Dodson, Travis Jones, Clive Matthews, Orson Fransois, Devon Joseph, Alex Sinclair, Timothy Griffith, Colin Lancaster, John Mattews, Nathaniel Pilgrim, Domini Garnett, Delroy Matthews, Cordell Carmial, Lloyd Mattews, Orwin Hunt, Shavez Hendricks.

Around the Web