Powell, Martin in Leewards squad for Caribbean T20 tournament

ST JOHN’S, Antigua, CMC – Batsman Kieran Powell of Nevis and Antigua & Barbuda leg-spinner Anthony Martin, who both played for West Indies in the recent One-Day International series against India, are in the Leeward Islands 14-man squad for the 2012 Caribbean Twenty20 championship in Antigua and Barbados from January 9 to 22.

There are four other players with international experience in wicket-keeper/batsman Devon Thomas of Antigua and Barbuda, his compatriots batsman Austin Richards and fast bowler Gavin Tonge and Monserrat pacer Lionel Baker.

Kieran Powell
Anthony Martin

The Leeward Islands are in Group A with defending champions Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Windward Islands and Canada.

Group B comprises Barbados, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Jamaica, Netherlands and Sussex.
Matches in Antigua will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium from January 9 to 14 before the tournament moves to Bridgetown for matches at Kensington Oval from January 17.

The highest placed Caribbean team will represent the region in the Nokia Champions League.

All matches will be broadcast live on ESPN.

Leeward Islands squad: Justin Athanaze, Larry Joseph, Anthony Martin, Austin Richards Jr, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, (Antigua & Barbdua), Shane Burton, Jason Campbell, Jahmar Hamilton, Chesney Hughes, Kelbert Walters, (Anguilla), Javia Liburd (St. Kitts), Kieran Powell (Nevis), Lionel Baker (Montserrrat). Coach: Leon Rodney. Manager: Percy Daniel.

Around the Web