Headquarters yesterday ran out champions at the 57th edition of the Guyana Police Force Inter Unit Championships at the Police Sports Club ground, Eve Leary.

Headquarters (HQ) amassed a total of 582 points to win ahead of ‘A’ Division, ‘B’ Division and ‘C’ Division with 314, 236 and 166 points respectively.

Derwin Eastman dips ahead of field to take the men’s ‘B’ class 200m yesterday.

Winston George, who recently returned from the Bolivian for the People of our Americas (ALBA) Games, produced a phenomenal day’s performance to claim a sprint quadruple.

He won the men’s ‘A’ class 100m, the men’s Invitational 100m, the men’s 200m and the men’s 400m in times of 10.4s, 10.1s, 21.5s and 49.4s respectively.

Janella Jonas finished with a distance triple when she copped the women’s 1500m in a time of 5:16.0s after winning the women’s 800 and 3000m earlier in the competition.

Denis Horatio also copped a distance double when he won the men’s 1500 metres in 4:19.7s ahead of Larry Josiah’s time of 4:26.6s. Horatio also claimed the men’s 5000m earlier in the competition.

The men’s ‘B’ class 100m was won by the dip of a chest as Terry Easton emerged the victor in 10.7s over a jubilant Trevor Benn who thought he had sealed the win in 10.9s.

Nadine Rodrigues claims the female 200m ahead of Leota Babb.

The women’s 100m, like the men’s ‘B’ class 100m,  was sorted by the dip of the bust but was somewhat controversial with Nadine Rodrigues  seemingly clearly ahead of Leota Babb who was  adjudged the winner in 12.2s while Rodrigues clocked 12.4s.

Rodrigues later returned to capture the women’s 200m in 25.3s ahead of Babb who turned in a time of 25.8s.

Shannah Thornhill, who placed third in both the 100 and 200 metres females, outwitted Rodrgues in the female 400m to win the event.

The men’s ‘B’ class 400m saw Shawn Semple stepping  up a notch as he clocked 50.4s to leave Mandela Collins 51.6s and Derwin Eastman 51.9s trailing in his footsteps. Eastman had earlier claimed the men’s ‘B’ class 200m in 22.0s ahead of Semple 22.4s and Easton 22.8s.

In a special 100m race set up at the GPF championships which featured past and present athletes, Rupert Perry sprinted away with the top prize of $100,000 ahead of Chavez Ageday and Quince Clarke.

Winston George in mid stride on his way to his 400m victory yesterday.

Letitia Myles outclassed her opponents in the women’s invitational 100m in 12.3s while Tiffany Carto, who brought third in the event, suffered an upset in the female youth club 100m as she lost to Alita Moore who clocked 12.2s to win the race.

Tevin Garraway also made his name known when he clocked 10.8s to win the youth club 100m while he was beaten by Kevin Scott in the youth club 200m.

Julio Caesar won the men’s “B’ class shot putt with a distance of 10.93m while Ronald Payne threw 11.28m to win the men’s ‘A’ class shot putt event.

HQ dominated in relay action as the won the male and female 4x100m events in times of 43.0s and 50.1s while winning both the male and female 4x400m event in times 3:28.0s and 4:34.2s respectively.

The GPF will now turn their sights to the Inter Services Championships which will be held next month at the Guyana Defence Force’s Camp Ayanganna ground.

Around the Web