Ramdin lifts T&T spirits with 67

 PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC – Trinidad and Tobago captain Denesh Ramdin stroked an unbeaten half-century to prop up his side after Windward Islands make key strikes on the opening day of their fourth round encounter in the Regional 4 Day Championship yesterday.

The right-hander finished the day on 67 as Trinidad and Tobago, winning the toss and batting first, reached 226 for six at Queen’s Park Oval. Stylish left-hander Darren Bravo chipped in with 64 while Gibran Mohammed hit a chancy 28 and Imran Khan, 24.

Denesh Ramdin

Left-arm seamer Delorn Johnson rocked Trinidad and Tobago early in a five-over spell with two for eight before succumbing to injury while West Indies off-spinner Shane Shillingford claimed two for 52. Ramdin arrived at the crease with T&T struggling at 101 for four and helped stablise the innings with two key partnerships.

He put on 44 with Bravo for the fifth wicket before adding a further 81 for the sixth wicket with Gibran Mohammed who fell with five balls left in the day’s play.

Overall, Ramdin faced 170 balls in 196 minutes at the crease and struck six fours while Bravo lasted 153 balls and struck 10 boundaries, before edging left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin into the hands of captain Darren Sammy at slip on the stroke of tea. T&T endured a rough start to the day as Johnson removed Justin Guillen lbw for seven with the score on 17.

Former captain Daren Ganga’s first innings of the season lasted just two balls before he was also lbw to Johnson without scoring, leaving T&T in crisis. However, Bravo and Imran Khan added 54 before Khan fell without adding to his lunch time score as T&T slipped to 71 for three.

Jason Mohammed popped Shillingford to Liam Sebastien at silly mid off for 12 at 101 for four but Ramdin and Bravo combined to stage the fightback. The Windwards were poor in the field, letting six chances slip with Gibran Mohammed benefitting from three of these on 11, 18 and 26.

T&T 1st Innings
J Guillen lbw Johnson                                           7
Imran Khan lbw b Pascal                                  24
D Ganga lbw b Johnson                                       0
D Bravo c Sammy b Mathurin                        64
J Mohammed c Sebastien b Shillingford   12
D Ramdin not out                                               67
G Mohammed lbw b Shillingford                 28
Extras (b9, lb7, w1, nb7)                               24
TOTAL (6 wickets, 90.2 overs)                  226
To bat: S Gabriel, S Narine, E Rajah, R Emrit.
Fall of wickets: 1-17, 2-17, 3-71, 4-101, 5-145, 6-226.
Bowling: Pascal 15-2-46-1, Johnson 5-2-8-2, Sammy 14-3-31-0, Shillingford 27.2-6-52-2 (nb2), Mathurin 22-5-55-1, Sebastien 7-2-18-0.
WINDWARDS – Darren Sammy (captain), Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Lindon James, Delorn Johnson, Keddy Lesporis, Garey Mathurin, Nelon Pascal, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith.
Toss: T&T.
Umpires: Michael Gough, Joel Wilson.

Around the Web