Bishoo on show today in four team T20 tourney

Dropped by the West Indies selectors for the current third test between the West Indies and Australia, leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo will get back to the drawing board today when he participates in the Universal DCD Club and Universal Solutions-sponsored T20 tournament at the Blairmont Community Development Centre ground.

The tournament was initially scheduled to get underway two weeks ago but heavy rain forced the organizers to postpone the seventh annual tournament.

Jonathan Foo
Devendra Bishoo

Bishoo is a member of the Berbice Titans team while another T20 star Jonathan Foo, a virtual one man army will play for East Berbice Strikers.

Apart from those two, former West Indies opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon, Eugene La Fleur, Richard Ramdeen, Veerasammy Permaul, Brandon Bess and Keon Joseph will also be in action. The tournament commences with the semi-finals which pits Universal Solutions Tigers, led by  Shawn Pereira,  against the Steven Latcha-led East Berbice Warriors from 11am.

The second semi-final gets underway at 2pm with Berbice Titans, led by Rajiv Ivan, against West Berbice All Stars, led by Sherwyn Mc Pherson.

The winners of the semifinals will clash in the final next Wednesday at the same venue while the losing teams will contest the third place play-off.

Over $500,000 in cash and prizes are at stake in the tournament.

Teams:Berbice Titans (from) Rajiv Ivan (Captain), Eugene La Fleur, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Devendra Bishoo, Kevin Ramdeen, Shastri Persaud, Eon Hooper, Clinton Pestano, Linden Austin, Akram Rahaman, Chandrashakar Arjune and Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai.

Universal Solutions Tigers (from) Shawn Pereira (Captain), Richard Ramdeen, Harrinarine Chattergoon, Khemraj Mahadeo, Keon De Jesus, Andy Mohan, Zaheer Hussain, Shailendra Shameer, Sharmindra Hardyal, Michael Newland, Rajendra Bolo and Veerasammy Permaul.

East Berbice Warriors (from) Steven Latcha (Captain), Joemal La Fleur, Romario De Jonge, Seon Hetmyer, Shafiq Khan, Winston Rose, Mark Lionel, Jonathan Foo, Yogindra Harrinarine, Junior Blair, Dominic Rikhi and Veerapen Permaul.

West Berbice All Stars (from) Sherwyn Mc Pherson (Captain), Daneshwani Persaud, Arthley Bailey, Romesh Boodram, Rafael Estriado, Ralph Ogle, Devendra Lalsa, Kwesi Mentore, Waqar Hussain, Altaf Khan, Keon Joseph, Keron Fraser and Brandon Bess.

Around the Web