Ruel Johnson wins Guyana Prize for Best Book of Fiction

The Guyana Prize for Literature awards were tonight presented to Ruel Johnson for Best Book of Fiction, a collection; Best Drama went to Mosa Mathifa Telford for Sauda while Ian McDonald and Cassia Alphonso jointly shared the award for Best Book of Poetry for The Comfort of All Things and Blackcake Mix respectively.

The award for First Book of Fiction went to Chaitaram Singh for The Flower Envoy. No work was considered suitable for the shortlist in the category of First Book of Poetry and therefore no award was presented. Tonight’s ceremony was held at the Pegasus Hotel.

In 1987 President Desmond Hoyte founded the Guyana Prize for Literature to encourage and develop Guyanese authors locally.

Ruel Johnson
Ruel Johnson

Around the Web