The 2013 Nobel Prize season-the science winners

(Reuters) – Here is a look at who won the science Nobel prizes for 2013:


* Physiology or Medicine: James E. Rothman (United States)

Randy W. Schekman (United States)

Thomas C. Suedhof (Germany

United States)

– For – plotting how cells transfer vital materials such as

hormones and brain chemicals to other cells, giving insight into diseases such as Alzheimer’s, autism and diabetes.


* Physics: Francois Englert (Belgium)

Peter W. Higgs (United Kingdom)

– For – predicting the existence of the Higgs boson particle that explains how elementary matter attained the mass to form stars and planets.

* Chemistry: Martin Karplus (United States


Michael Levitt (United States

United Kingdom)

Arieh Warshel (United States


– For – laying the foundations for development of computers to understand complex chemical processes from the purification of exhaust fumes to photosynthesis which helps in complex processes such as the development of drugs.

Around the Web