WICB Director blasts ICC penalty imposed on Ramdeen

LONDON, CMC-A director of the West Indies Cricket Board, Baldath Mahabir, has criticized the penalty meted out to West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin for claiming a catch off Misbah-ul-Haq during the Champions Trophy game against Pakistan at The Oval.

Ramdin, who pleaded not guilty to a charge of misconduct laid by the International Cricket Council, has been suspended for two one day internationals (ODIs) and fined 100 per cent of his match fees.

“Ramdin is no cheat,” declared Mahabir in an interview with the Guardian.

“He has always played the game within the spirit of it and to see this kind of penalty imposed on him is hard”.

Ramdin missed Tuesday’s match against India which West Indies loss by eight wickets and will miss the Caribbean side’s do or die clash with South Africa at the Swalec Stadium in Cardiff on Friday.

Johnson Charles, who kept wicket against India and top scored with 60, is expected to substitute again against the Proteas. “I think that if the match referee was not happy with what transpired, then he should have at least given him a suspended ban, so as to not upset the balance of the West Indies team at this tournament,” said Mahabir.

“He could have even let start his ban after the Champions Trophy. If there is an avenue to appeal the West Indies management should immediately use it”.

The wicketkeeper initially appeared to have caught the ball but lost control of it as he fell forward and it slipped out of his gloves on to the grass.

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo, however, had defended Ramdin, saying the wicketkeeper did not act deliberately.

Around the Web

Comments