Smith to lead Windies A in T20s against Sri Lanka A

— Barnwell lone Guyanese iuncluded

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent, CMC- West Indies batsman Dwayne Smith will lead the West Indies A team against Sri Lanka A team in two T20 matches this week at Arnos Vale in St. Vincent.

Christopher Barnwell
Christopher Barnwell

Smith, a prolific scorer in the just ended Indian Premier League (IPL), is one of four members of the West Indies World T20 champion team named on the regional A team for the series.

The others are Lendl Simmons, allrounder Andre Russell, and leg-spinner Samuel Badree  who were part of the squad which beat Sri Lanka to win the prestigious ICC World T20 Trophy at the R Premadasa Stadium last October

The quartet will form the main part of the Windies A Team when the matches are played on Tuesday and Wednesday.

First ball in both matches is 2 pm (1 pm Jamaica Time).

The 13-man squad includes four other players who have represented the West Indies in T20 Internationals.

These are: fast bowler Shannon Gabriel, off-spinner Ashley Nurse, top-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and batting allrounder Christopher Barnwell.

The rest of the squad is seam bowler Kevin Cooper, who has performed with distinction for Trinidad & Tobago; wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton, who played two Test matches back in 2009; rookie allrounder Kyle Mayers; left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cotterell, and middle-order batsman Keddy Lesporis – both graduates of the Sagicor High Performance Centre.


Dwayne Smith (Captain),Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Nkrumah Bonner, Kevon Cooper, Sheldon Cotterell, Shannon Gabriel, Keddy Lesporis, Kyle Mayers, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons and Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper).

Around the Web