Eccles Primary, IPE, Vryheid’s Lust crowned Windball champions

Eccles Primary School, the Institute of Professional Education (IPE) and Vryheid’s Lust were crowned champions when the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport/National Sports Commission/All Sport and Tour Promotions 16th annual end of school year Windball cricket competition continued last Thursday at the National Park, Thomas Lands.

Eccles Primary were declared East Bank Zone Champions after they defeated St. Anne’s Primary by one run. Batting first, Eccles reached 43-3 from their allotted five overs with Leon Hope top scoring with 25 not out. Travis Gordon was the pick of the St. Anne’s bowlers with figures of 3-17.

St Anne’s  Primary who have been absent from the sport for more than five years came agonizingly close in their pursuit of the Eccles total finishing on 42-3 from their allotted overs with Lucas Loyota top scoring with 10 runs for St. Anne’s while Keon Narine bagged 2-27 bowling for the winners.

In the final of the Central East Bank Zone, the Institute of Professional Education (IPE) defeated Vryheid’s Lust Primary by six runs to be crowned champions.

Sent in to bat, IPE made 53-5 from their allotted five overs with Tyand Abrahim top scoring with 23. Vryheid’s Lust in reply, were restricted to 47-2 from their allotted overs. Godfrey Woolford top scored for the losers with 10 runs.

In the female category, Vryheid’s Lust were crowned girls Central East Bank Zone champions after they earned a walkover against IPE girls.

A number of schools received their respective first, second, third and fourth placed trophies which were sponsored by the NSC.

Those schools were Massiah Primary, Corriverton Primary, No. 48 Primary, No. 56 Primary and No. 59 Primary from the Region #6 Upper Corentyne Zone.

From the Central Corentyne Zone, Mc Gowan Primary, Auchlyne Primary, Kildonan Primary, and Central Corentyne Primary were awarded trophies.

Collecting trophies for the Region #4 Upper East Coast Demerara Zone were Mahaica Primary, Clonbrook Primary and Ann’s Grove Primary.  Recipients from the Lower Central East Coast Zone were IPE and Vryheid Lust Primary. Schools in Region #3 will be receiving their trophies during the coming week.

Around the Web