B/ce, Demerara secure outright wins

Romario Shepherd-DeJonge’s all-round performance led defending champions GT&T Berbice to victory over Essequibo while Demerara recorded a convincing eight-wicket victory over the President’s XI in the second round of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)/GTM Under-19 Inter-County Three-Day competition yesterday.

At the Police Sports Club ground, Eve Leary, Berbice defeated Essequibo by an innings and 108 runs with one day to spare.

114 all out and Berbice 199 for 3 in 65 overs

Shawn Perreira
Shawn Perreira

Resuming on 199 for 3 in reply to Essequibo’s first innings score of 114 all out, Berbice chalked up an imposing score of 340 in 87 overs for a lead of 226.

David Latchaya added 10 runs to his overnight score of 36; Shailendra Shameer stroked 32; Shepherd-DeJonge was unbeaten on 26 and Kevon Jawahir made 28, adding 51 runs for the last wicket with Shepherd-De Jonge.

Essequibo’s Herry Green captured six wickets for 147 in 36 overs.

In their second innings, Essequibo was bundled out for 118 in 22 overs.

Opener Avanesh Persaud stroked 52 which included four fours and four sixes while Ricardo Adams (21) and Julio Jones (19) made useful contributions.

Fast bowler and match MVP, Shepherd-DeJonge, who claimed 5 for 52 on the first day, added two more wickets to his tally ending with match figures of 7 for 72.

He was supported by his Skipper and leg spinner, Shawn Perreira who destroyed the opposition by capturing 7 for 17 off 3.4 overs.

Over at the Everest Cricket Club ground, the President’s XI, who in their second innings were five without loss at stumps yesterday facing a deficit of 55, were eventually skittled out for 128 in 45.5 overs.

Vishal Narayan top scored with 38 while Denesh Mangal chipped in with 30.

Man of-the-match, Demerara’s Steven Sankar, bagged 7 for 47 after grabbing 5 for 17 in the first innings, to end with 12 wickets in the match while medium pacers Kevin Paul and Dexter George along with spinner Stephon Brown picked up a wicket apiece

Chasing 69 for victory, Demerara reached their target losing two wickets in the process.

Bryan Sattaur hit five fours and two sixes in his score of 41 not out, while skipper Kamesh Yadram ended not out on five. Tagenarine Chanderpaul (18) and Andrew Gibson (1) were the batsmen dismissed.

President’s XI off spinner, Narayan claimed the only two Demerara wickets to fall for 25 runs.

Earlier Mangal and Narayan gave the President’s XI a brief glimmer of hope with an unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 42 as they cleared off the first innings deficit of 60 runs.

Demerara lead the points table with 31 points while Berbice lie second with 22.5 points.

The final round starts on Saturday with Demerara playing Berbice at the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) ground and the President’s XI taking on Essequibo at the Wales Community Center ground.

Around the Web