West Indies middle order batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan was yesterday named Captain of the Guyana Amazon Warriors franchise ahead of this month’s Inaugural Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament which will be played across the Caribbean.

The team captains were announced yesterday by the CPL. The Antigua Hawksbills will be led by West Indies middle order batsman, Marlon Samuels, the Barbados Tridents will have the services of the big-hitting Kieron Pollard while the Jamaica Tallawahs will be led by the force known as Chris Gayle.

West Indies Test and T/20 skipper, Darren Sammy leads his country’s franchise the St. Lucia Zouks, while his replacement as one-day captain, Dwayne Bravo will have the opportunity to lead the Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel.

Commenting on his selection as captain for the Guyana Amazon Warriors, Ramnaresh Sarwan said: “It is a great honour to have been chosen to captain the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the first ever Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament.  I have the opportunity to work with and lead some of the best players in the region and the world, and I am looking forward to using my years of experience to guide the Amazon Warriors to victory.”

Sarwan, who has been experiencing a drought with the bat recently, managed to get a few good scores under his belt playing for his English County club Leicestershire, but had a difficult time scoring for the West Indies since his century against Zimbabwe earlier this year.

Sarwan who led the West Indies and Guyana in the past, also led Guyana to the first ever major title in a Caribbean T20 tournament, the Stanford 20/20 championship back in August of 2006, Sarwan will seek to bring another major T20 title back to Guyana.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Sunil Narine, Mohammed Hafeez, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, William Perkins, Krishmar Santokie, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine, Veerasammy Permaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Christopher Barnwell.

The head Coach is Roger Harper and assistant Coach is Curtly Ambrose.

Around the Web