Berbice thrashes President’s XI by 10 wickets in U-19

-Essequibo loses to Demerara

The Berbice team scripted an effortless 10 wicket win over the President’s XI, while half centuries from Demerara Skipper Kamesh Yadram and Kemol Savory humbled the Essequibo team handing them a 45 run defeat as the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)/GTM Under-19 50 overs-a-side competition continued yesterday.

The Demerara Cricket Ground (DCC) witnessed the most

Romario Shepherd- De Jonge
Romario Shepherd-
De Jonge

comfortable win of the 50-over tournament thus far.

The President’s XI slumped to a miserable 73 all out in 42 overs. Martin Pestano-Bell’s 18 which yielded a single boundary, was the top score for President’s XI, while Andy Sukharan and Garfield De Roche added 15 and 11 respectively.

The Berbice bowling unit displayed a “pack mentality” as their four bowlers, Shawn Perreira, Shailendra Shameer, Romario Shepherd-DeJonge and Sharaz Ramcharran crushed the opposition, picking up 2 wickets apiece.

In response, Berbice cruised to their target in 13 overs, scoring 74, losing just one wicket in the process.  Ashkay Homraj the wicketkeeper/batsman stroked a mature 43 not out which included two boundaries and four maximums, he got over the rope with partner Sharaz Ramcharran on 2 not out.

Earlier they lost batsman Devin Baldeo when he was stumped by President’s XI keeper Dinesh Mangal for 20 off the bowling of Vishal Narayan.

Shepherd-De Jonge was named match MVP at the post match presentation.

Man of the match Steven Sankar receives his trophy from GCB’s Chairman of the Junior Selection panel, Nazimul Drepaul
Man of the match Steven Sankar receives his trophy from GCB’s Chairman of the Junior Selection panel, Nazimul Drepaul

Over at the Everest Sports Club ground, Demerara bounced back from their loss to Berbice by edging out opponents Essequibo in a tense encounter.

Winning the toss and choosing to bat, Demerara chalked up a decent score of 193 for 8 in their 50 overs. Skipper Yadram hit two sixes and four fours in his knock of 52 and was equalled by left hander Savory who tied with his captain on 52, hitting four boundaries as well in his effort.

Bernard Bailey 27, along with Dexter George 20, provided reinforcement with the bat for Demerara.

Action between Demerara and Essequibo at Everest
Action between Demerara and Essequibo at Everest

Essequibo’s Ricardo Adams with 2 for 25 and Andy Das with 2 for 17 were the most successful bowlers and were reinforced by one wicket apiece from Rajiv Balgobin and Herry Green.

Chasing a modest total for a win, Essequibo lost its way and was eventually bowled out for 148 in 48.4 overs. Leg-spinner Steven Sankar was the chief destroyer picking up 5 for 34 from his 10 overs.

Adams, who was among the wicket takers earlier returned with the bat to top score with 54 which consisted of four fours and three maximums. Mohamed Hassan 15, Herry Green 13 and Shivindra Hemraj 12 offered futile resistance.

Demerara’s spinner Devon Lord grabbed 2 for 32 from 7.4 overs, while Dexter George returned with the ball to claim 2 for 34 off his 10 and Bernard Bailey finished with 1 for 15.

At the post-match presentation, Demerara’s Sankar was adjudged Player of the match for his 5-wicket haul.

The third and final round is set for tomorrow with the President’s XI taking on Demerara at the Wales Community Centre ground, while Berbice is set to face Essequibo at a venue to be announced.

The two top teams will meet in the final match on Monday July 8, at a venue to be announced.

Around the Web