‘A’ Division maintains lead over defending champs

‘A’ Division on 96 points maintained its lead at the end of the second day of the Guyana Police Force (GPF) annual Inter-Division track and field championship at the Police Sports Club ground, Eve Leary yesterday.

Defending champions Headquarters trail the leaders with 77 points.

Yesterday’s events were scheduled to get underway at 10:30am but were delayed after early morning showers dampened the field, leaving the long jump pit, the venue for the first event of the day, waterlogged.

After a few hours of sunshine the competition commenced with the men’s discus finals which saw last year’s Boyce/Jefford’s Classic men’s champion athlete Julio Sinclair, send the heavy disc sailing with a throw of 38.62m to snatch first place ahead of Cordell English and Warren Duncan who had best throws of 35.5m and 31.42m respectively.

In the women’s  discus, `A’ Division’s Latoya Rodney comfortably won with a throw of 29.89m ahead of Headquarters’ Donna Ferguson who threw 27.50m and ‘C’ Division’s Joan King-Brown who threw 24.90m.

Kevin Abbensetts (right) dips at the 100m finish line in the Youth Club boys’ 100m heats yesterday afternoon ahead of sprint sensation Tevin Garraway (second left). (Orlando Charles photo)
Kevin Abbensetts (right) dips at the 100m finish line in the Youth Club boys’ 100m heats yesterday afternoon ahead of sprint sensation Tevin Garraway (second left). (Orlando Charles photo)

The men’s long jump finals saw one of the biggest upsets of the day with the defending champion, Troy Williams, of Headquarters beaten into third position after his Headquarters colleague Jabori Joseph leapt 6.45m in his first jump.

To compound matters Williams found himself in further trouble after

Joint Services long jump record holder, Cordel Mentore of ‘B’ Division bounded to 6.39m, leaving Williams’ best jump of 6.14m in third position.

Tracy Moses of ‘A’ Division lived up to expectations in the women’s long jump finals with a first place leap of 5.25m ahead of `A’ Division’s Cindy Fraser, 5.21m and Tandika Burgess, 4.97m.

Janelle Jonas was without a challenge in the women’s 3000m final and duly won the event some 200m ahead of Shion Boyer and Tisha Grimes.

Jonas’s winning time was 12:06 seconds while Boyer, who was challenged by Grimes in the final 300m of the race produced a powerful finish which allowed her to clock 13:27 seconds ahead of Grimes’ 13:31 seconds.

The preliminary rounds in the men’s 100m saw Keith Roberts of Headquarters recording 11.4 seconds ahead of sprint sensation Chavez Ageday (‘C’ Division) and Trevor McKenzie who clocked 11.6 seconds and 11.9 seconds respectively.

Shawn Semple won heat one of the 100m in a time of 11.6 seconds with Derwin Eastman and Cordell Mentore finishing in 11.8 seconds and 12 seconds flat respectively.

Leota Babb and Alita Moore comfortably won their 100m female heats while

Headquarters’ Tevin Garraway placed second in his heat to Kevin Abbensetts.

The second heat was won by Samuel Doris with Kelon Reid and Marvin Tinnis second and third respectively.

Meanwhile, the 400m men and women’s heats saw Kevin Bayley and Shawn Semple and Alita Moore and Tenisha Punch winning.

The championships will continue today with the women’s triple jump finals from 10:30am.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built stabroeknews.com using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now