Pakistan sweep T20 Series

KINGSTOWN, St. Vincent,  CMC -An inspired opening burst by Sohail Tanvir and consistent pressure in the field secured an 11 run win for Pakistan that gave them a 2-0 sweep of their Twenty/20 International series at the Arnos Vale Playing Field here yesterday.

Umar Akmal receives his Man-of-the –Match award from former West Indies fast bowler Nixon Mc Lean. (photo courtesy WICB media)
Umar Akmal receives his Man-of-the –Match award from former West Indies fast bowler Nixon Mc Lean. (photo courtesy WICB media)

Chasing 136 for victory the West Indies clawed to 124 for nine in 20 overs after having been languishing at 94 for seven at one stage.

Dwayne Bravo topscored with 35. Sunil Narine, sent in at number six to provide a left hand right hand combination to counter Pakistan’s attack, added 28.

Kieron Pollard had the only other innings of substance spanking 23, including 20 runs in four balls in the 17th over bowled by Zulfiqar  Babar.

The orthodox left hand bowler had the final laugh though, Pollard lofting a catch to Sohail Tanvir and  Dwayne Bravo followed immediately afterwards caught by Mohammad Azam as he attempted to clear the in-field.

Tanvir started the rut when he had Johnson Charles caught behind without scoring  and Mohammad Hafeez accounted for Chris Gayle who lobbed a  catch to Shahid Afridi at mid off  for one.

Marlon Samuels got one that bounced sharply on him when on one and again Umar Akmal came up with a catch behind the stumps.

Lendl Simmons, who has had a good run of scores in the preceding One Day International series was bowled by Shahid Afridi for three, that left the West Indies  17-4.

Narine and Bravo had the best partnership of the innings putting on 47 the sixth wicket.

The West Indies lower order however had no answer for Zulfiqar Barbar and Saeed Ajmal who hastened the end.

West Indies would have fancied their chances of levelling the series having restricted Pakistan to 135 for seven in their allotment.

Wicket-keeper batsman Umar Akmal, played another useful cameo for Pakistan with an unbeaten 46 from 36 deliveries including three fours and one six.

It came in the middle of the innings as Pakistan struggled to put partnerships together.

Samuel Badree did the early damage removing Mohammad Hafeez who top edged to Lendl Simmons at short third man for 10 and Haris Sohail who fell for just a single to a fine solo effort by Badree running back to complete a catch at mid off.

Ahmed Shehzad was the other main scorer, the opening batsman contributing 44 off 46 deliveries and hitting four fours and two sixes.

He was induced by Kieron Pollard to swing to deep mid-wicket where Lendl Simmons held the catch.

Sunil Narine tightened the screws on Pakistan, picking up wickets in quick succession, sending back Shahid Afridi caught at long leg by Marlon Samuels for six, Mohammad Azam stumped by Johnson Charles for one and Sohail Tanvir who paddled a simple catch to Dwayne Bravo at backward square without scoring.

Narine was economical with figures of three for 26 from four overs and Badree had two for 16 off four.

Ahmed  Shehzad   c   Lendl  Simmons
b Kieron  Pollard                                                                    44
* Mohammad Hafeez   c   Lendl Simmons,
b  Samuel Badree                                                                  10
Umar Amin   c  and  b  Darren Sammy                                  7
Haris Sohail  c   and  b  Samuel Badree                                     1
+ Umar Akmal   not out                                                           46
Shahid Afridi   c  Marlon Samuels  b  Sunc  il Narine                6
Mohammad  Azam  stmp + Johnson Charles  b Sunil Narine   1
Sohail  Tanvir  c  Dwayne Bravo  b  Sunil Narine                    0
Zulfiqar Babar   not  out                                                          11
Extras   b2, lb4 w3                                                                  9
Total (7 wickets, 20 overs)                                                     135
Did not bat: Saeed Ajmal, Asad Ali:
Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-39, 3-42, 4-78, 5-96, 6-109, 7-109.
Bowling: Darren Sammy 4-0-20-1,  Samuel Badree 4-0-16-2,  Sunil Narine 4-0-26-3 (1w),  Tino Best 2-0-16-0 (1w), Dwayne Bravo 4-0-35-0,  Kieron Pollard 2-0-16-1 (1w).

West Indies:
+ Johnson Charles      c  + Umar Akmal  b   Sohail Tanvir    0
Chris Gayle  c  Shahid Afridi  b  Mohammad  Hafeez               1
Marlon Samuels c + Umar Akmal  b  Sohail Tanvir                   1
Lendl Simmons   b  Shahid Afridi                                            3
Dwayne Bravo   c  Mohammad Azam  b Zulfiqar  Babar      35
Sunil Narine  c  Umar Amin  b  Saeed Ajmal                           28
Kieron Pollard  c  Sohail Tanvir  b  Zulfiqar Babar               23
Darren sammy  c  Shahid Afridi b  Saeed Ajmal                         1
Christopher Barnwell  run out  (Azam/Akmal)                       10
Tino Best  not out                                                                17
Samuel Badree  not out                                                           1
Extras   1b 1, w2, nb1                                                               4
Total (9 wickets, 20 overs)                                                      124
Fall of wickets; 1-2,  2-2,  3-4,  4-17,  5-64,  6-94,  7-94,  8-105,  9-105.
Bowling: Mohammad Hafeez  4-0-9-1 (2w), Sohail Tanvir  4-0-20-2 (1nb),  Zulfiqar Babar  4-0-37-2,  Shahid Afridi  3-0-29-1, Saeed Ajmal 4-0-21-2,  Asad Ali  1-0-7-0.
Toss: Pakistan – who decided to bat:
Result: Pakistan won by 11 runs and take the series 2-0.
Player of the match- Umar Akmal
Player of the series- Zulfiqar Babar

Around the Web