Wismar/Christianburg tops Linden basketball tourney

Wismar/Christianburg Secon-dary captured the 9th edition of the Linden Secondary Schools under-19 Basketball tournament, edging Wisburg Secondary 52-51 in a pulsating finale on Saturday.

Played at the Mackenzie Sports Club (MSC) hard court, Wismar/Christianburg seized the early initiative as they raced to an 18-9 first period lead.

Led by the duo of Taquille Johnson and Aubrey Campbell, Wisburg would fight back as they outscored Wismar/Christianburg to go into half time with a one point lead with the scores on 28-27.

Resuming action in the pivotal third quarter, the losing 2012 finalists Wismar/Christianburg would reply strongly as they added 13 points to their score to go into the final quarter ahead 40-39.

Wismar/Christianburg Secondary celebrating their tournament victory
Wismar/Christianburg Secondary celebrating their tournament victory

Tense throughout the final stanza, Wisburg would take a three-point lead with 30 seconds remaining on the clock as Johnson netted to take the scores to 51-48.

However Wismar/ Christianburg would not be denied, as tiny guard Keifer Tappin knocked down a clutch three-point dagger to tie the game at 51. Further misery would befall Wisburg, as Tappin was adjudged to have been fouled in the act of shooting.

With less than five seconds remaining on the clock, Tappin buried one of his two free throws to hand his team the 52-51 win.
Travin Dryden and Terron Welch led the victors with 17 and 11 points respectively. Johnson top scored for the losers with 17 points.

In the third place playoff game, Linden Foundation Secondary (LFS) scored a crushing 86-50 win over Linden Technical Institute (LTI). Vibert Benjamin led the victors with 18 points. Rolston Richmond netted 17 points in a losing effort.

At the presentation ceremony that followed the conclusion of the tournament, Wismar/ Christianburg received their first place trophy and replicas donated by EURON Equipment Repairs.

They were also presented with championship t-shirts donated by former national women’s head Coach Linden ‘Sancho’ Alphonso. Alphonso also contributed one of the two Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards.

Wisburg Secondary, LFS and LTI secondary collected their respective second, third and fourth trophies and replicas which were donated by Marlon Josiah, Orin Louison and Lennox Allicock respectively.

Wisburg also carted away the Most Disciplined Team award donated by Maxie Stephens.

On the individual side, Wismar/Christiansburg’s Terron Welch was adjudged to be the champion scorer of the tournament. He was also named the event’s MVP. Wisburg Secondary’s Johnson was named the losing finalists MVP.

Remaining tournament sponsors include, Two Brothers Gas Station, Banks DIH Limited and the Haynes Foundation of the United States of America.

Around the Web