Banks sports programme to climax today

The Banks DIH Limited  2013 sports programme will climax today with  employees battling for supremacy at cricket, football, dominoes, pools, billiards, table tennis and darts at the company’s Sports Club at Thirst Park.

The programme will get underway at 8am with cricket which will see Berbice Branch squaring off with Essequibo in the 12-over-a-side semi-final with the winner meeting Soft Drink Plant in the final.

The teams to compete in the dominoes playoff are Stores ‘A’ and ‘B’, Pre-sellers, Vehicle Workshop ‘A’ and ‘B’, Maintenance Workshop, Linden, Essequibo, Bartica and Essequibo branches.

The contestants for the king dominoes competition are Quincy Bailey, Sinclair Mc Pherson (Soft Drink Plant), Satesh Harrinanan (Stores), Terry Liverpool, Lawrence Rodney, Shawn Clementson (Vehicle Workshop), Geoffrey La Rose, Sherlock Simon (Linden), Lakerram Alli, Cerran Ragoobeer (Essequibo), Devon Fraser (Bartica), Rayan Faria and Andre Lewis (Berbice).

Eleven female players will square off for the queen dominoes title and they are Shaundel Easton, Shauna Jones (Linden), M. Dugid and R. Gilford (Berbice), Alexis Grenado (Personnel), G. Ferguson (Sanitation), Dianne December (Bartica), Ann Josiah (Security), Simone Armstrong (Rum Factory), Sheron Douglas (Electrical) and Sherry Martins (Laundry).

Trisco division will clash with Berbice while Stores will meet Linden with the winners advancing to face Sales and Distribution Warehouse in the five-a-side football playoff.

The players to contest the pools playoff are A. Boodnah, Dave Singh, David Hunte, M. Gajadhar, R. Shivraj, Anthony Xavier, H. Baksh, Mortimer Stewart and Jeremy Jailall.

Mortimer Stewart and Anthony Xavier will compete in the billiards final.

Five players Rayan Faria, Michael De Freitas, Andre Lewis, Troy Peters and Mubiano King will contest the table tennis playoff.


The presentation of prizes will take place when the company holds its Annual Staff Meeting and Awards presentation.


Around the Web