Five CPL stars confirmed for single wicket contest

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC-At least five of the region’s leading all-rounders have confirmed their participation in the 2013 Caribbean Single Wicket Tournament carded for Trinidad around the middle of next month, organizers have announced.

Caribbean Premier League T20 stars Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Darren Sammy and Dwayne Smith have all signed up  for the event at Sir Frank Worrell Ground, University of the West Indies on October 13.

Tournament director William Wallace says they are hoping to add West Indies power hitters Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle to the list.

12 all-rounders from around the Caribbean will battle it out for bragging rights and a winner take all jackpot of US$3,000.

The tournament, which is being held to commemorate the 40th anniversary of Caricom, is being staged for the second time by Glory Entertainment.

Simmons emerged champion of the first event in 2009.

The 12 all-rounders will be divided into four groups of three with the winners of each group moving into the semi-finals.

The matches will be a one-on-one contest between two players with each player allowed to bowl two overs against his opponent and with the all-rounder scoring more runs winning the encounter.

When batting, the all-rounder will be partnered by a non-striking runner, while the bowler will be supported by neutral fielders.

If the batsman is out three times, his innings is closed, with three runs being deducted from his total score for each dismissal.

Around the Web