IGG team to depart this morning

Guyana’s contingent of athletes and officials were scheduled to depart this morning for Suriname to compete in the second leg of the Inter Guiana Games (IGG).

During the five-day sojourn, the cream of Guyana’s under 19 runners, basketballers, volleyball players and swimmers will lock horns with their Surinamese counterparts on a quest to secure individual and team glory. From the courts, to the track, to the pool, several venues will be buzzing with activity tomorrow when the visiting sportsmen and women tackle the host in the four disciplines.

According to Director of Sport, Neil Kumar, “All systems have been put in place for the athletes to excel at the Games.” The visiting contingent comprises 12 swimmers, 26 athletes, the volleyball and the basketball teams.

The male swimming team will be made up of Hannibal Gaskin(100m freestyle, 50m and 100m butterfly), Omar Adams (50m and 200m freestyle, 50m butterfly), Omari Dunn (50m and 100m breaststroke), Joseph Sequina (50m and 100m freestyle, 50m and 100m backstroke), Phillip DeNobrega (200m freestyle, 50m backstroke) and Delon Nurse, (50m and 100m breaststroke, 200m IM).

The girls’ team will be spearheaded by Goodwill Games gold medalist Britany van Lange (50m, 100m and 200m freestyle, 50m butterfly) Accalia Khan (200m freestyle, 100m backstroke) Nikita Fiedtkou, (50m and 100m breaststroke), Jamila Sanmoogan, (50m and 100m breaststroke) Soroya Simmons(50m and 100m backstroke, 50m and 100m butterfly) and Onika George (50m and 100m freestyle, 50m backstroke). Thirteen males and 13 females will don national colours on the quest to retain the Track and Field title against

their Surinamese counterparts. The formidable squad comprises Carifta Games 1500m gold medalists Cassie George, Jevina Straker and 400m bronze medalist, Jason Yaw as well as Carifta Games 200m bronze medalist, Tirana Mitchell, Cassie George, Jevina Straker, Alita Moore, Natricia Hooper, Jevina Sampson, Cassie Kirton, Kelanie Griffith, Mearisha Carter, Niossi Alsoop, Tiffany Pilgrim, Kristy Roberts, and Claudrice McKoy will also make up the female squad.

The male squad reads: Jason Yaw, Kevin Abbensetts, Rondel Gibbons, Quacy Simpson, Ornesto Thomas, Kevin Nicholas, Samuel Kaitan, Parrish Codogan, Samuel Gray, Yoel Benjamin, Damon Williams and Laured Stewart.

In the first leg in August, host Guyana won at cycling and table-tennis while their rivals took top honours in chess and football. The aim of the games is to create possibilities for youths to come together and compete in different sport disciplines, focusing on better sport results and better understanding of each other’s culture.
Guyana’s outfit is scheduled to return on Monday.

Around the Web