Bermine win Universal DVD T20 tournament

All rounder Devon Clements struck a match-winning half-century and took three wickets as Bermine defeated West Berbice by 26 runs Sunday to win the 2013 Universal DVD first division T20 competition.

Played at the Albion Community Development Centre ground, Bermine made 138 for 6 from 20 overs.

Man-of-the-Match Clements scored 56 not out. The all-rounder, along with Joemal Lafleur (20), produced a 68-run partnership after the top order collapsed. Bowling for West Berbice, Keon Joseph grabbed 2 for 31 from four overs.


Bermine captain, Anthony D’Andrade, being presented with the Universal DVD trophy.
Bermine captain, Anthony D’Andrade, being presented with the Universal DVD trophy.

In reply, West Berbice were restricted to 112 all out in 19 overs. Raffel Estriado (42) and Quacy McPherson (27) not out were the notable scorers. Bowling for Bermine, Nial Smith took 4 for 12 from four overs, Clements 3-29 and Damian Vantull 2 for 25.

At the presentation ceremony after the match, Managing Director of Universal DVD Club, Vickram Seubarran, praised the level of this year’s competition and congratulated Bermine for emerging champions. He said that he knows that the next competition will be even better.

In the third place playoff, Albion Community Centre defeated Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets after scoring 102 for 9 in 20 overs with former Berbice cricketer, Clinton Pestano 28, and West Indies ‘A’ batsman Assad Fudadin 17.

WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS! The 2013 winners Bermine.
WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS! The 2013 winners Bermine.

For Albion, former Berbice under-19 off-spinner, Veerapen Permaul took 3 for 11 from four overs and former Guyana T20 batting star, Jonathan Foo, bowling leg-spin 2 for 25 also from four overs.

Albion replied with 106 for 2 in 18.5 overs with former Guyana under-19 batsman, Kandasammy Surujnarine scoring 58 not out.

Albion received $25,000 and Rose Hall $10,000 along with respective trophies presented with trophies.

Bermine captain, Anthony D’Andrade, was presented with the Universal DVD trophy and $200,000 while Krishnadat Ramoo uplifted the runners-up trophy and $100,000 for West Berbice, a record for prize money in the history of Berbice first division club cricket. Clements received $10,000 for his MVP performance.



Around the Web