DCB O40 competition set to bowl off tomorrow

The Demerara Cricket Board (DCB)/ Raj Singh Insurance Brokers and Trophy Stall sponsored Over-40 20-overs-a-side competition is scheduled to commence tomorrow at several venues across Demerara, after a hiatus of several years.

The competition is being reintroduced and is specifically geared towards bringing a closer relationship between sponsors, former players, administrators and lovers of the game, a release from the DCB stated.

The tournament features special rules geared towards stimulating intense competition between the teams and is distinct from the popular T20 competition.

The competition will be contested among eight teams (two from each of the constituent areas of the DCB, namely; Georgetown, East Bank Demerara, East Coast Demerara and West Demerara who will be vying for a trophy.

During the preliminary rounds each team will be awarded four points for a win;  two points to each team for a tie and one point to each team for a no result.

In addition, during the preliminary rounds bonus points will be awarded for various achievements. Two bonus points will be awarded to a team which defeats its opponent by more than 75 runs or with just five or less wickets down while one bonus point will be awarded to the team which defeats the other by more than 50 and less than 75 runs or less than seven wickets down.

Also, two bonus points will be awarded to a team that scores more than 175 runs in an innings, one bonus point for a team that scores more than 150 runs in an innings, two bonus points if a team wins in less than 10 overs and one bonus point if a team wins in less than 12 overs. Another exciting innovation for this tournament would be that bowlers from the fielding side would be limited to a maximum of three overs thereby ensuring that at least seven bowlers are used in an inning.

The Competitions Committee of the DCB met with the representatives of all the teams on Wednesday at the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) boardroom, where each team was furnished with a copy of the playing conditions and a box of balls. Umpires’ fees will also be paid by the sponsor while at the end of each match, a man-of-the-match trophy will be awarded to a deserving player to be chosen by the two captains and the two officiating umpires.

It is expected that at the end of this tournament, a strong Demerara team would be selected to oppose their counterparts from the other counties at a later date.

Below are the lists of players declared for each team:

West Coast Demerara Seals: Krishnchand Mangal (Captain), Rabindranauth Seeram, Nazarali Asgaralli, Nigel Viera, Dhanpaul, Muninram Persaud, Lloyd Harper, Mukesh Persaud, Mohamed Willie, Abdul Zaman Willie, Marlon Blacks, Asthon Headley, Manniram, Mook Persaud, Ashraf Ali, and Sean Mckay.

West Bank Demerara Mavericks: Terry Daniels (Captain), Abdul S. Samad, Anand Sanasie, Steve Harripaul, Shaun Persaud, Emran Sullivan, Haimandan Panday, Eon Williams, Harmanand Singh, Danraj Bipath, Randolph Shivrattan, Inwajeet Etwaroo, Arnold Shamshudeen, Abid Hanniff, Shaheed Khan, Deoram Persaud, and Shameer Imran. The Manager is Omar Hussain.

Upper East Coast Tigers: Shiek Mohamed (Captain), Naim Chand, Jacob Persaud, Mark Malone, Anil Persaud, Sunil Dyal, Ronald Goolgnar, Desmond Butts, Deonarine Chatura, Anthony Carto, Jagdesh Persaud, Bridgelall Heeralall, Gangaram Ramraj, Nandram Budhram, Nandalall Khan, and Kenneth De Freitas. Manager is Patrick Singh.

Lower East Coast Bulls: Samaroo Jailall (Player/Manager), Clifton Anderson, Jeffrey Ramgopaul, Rockey Ramgopaul (Captain), Chandrakar Jeenarine, Charlie Outar, Nazir Baksh, Chathram Gagadin, David Singh, Azad Mohamed, Raymond Karim, Rohan Lance Persaud, Baldeo Persaud, Vicky Bipta, Kassim Khan, Steve Hookum, Zamaladeen Khan, Ronald Jagmohan,  Seeraj Bhimsain, V. Gobin, Seemangal Yadram, Latchman Yadram, Chatapaul Singh.

Upper East Bank Colts: Raymond Jaisingh, Daniel Singh, Calvin Singh, Sudesh Latchman, Lancelot Easton, George Niles, Mark Grenville, Roy Mahadeo, Rohan Sarjoo (Captain), Vijay Ramgobin, Otis George, Owen Grannum, Steve Waldron, Kenneth Debidial, Sanjeev Datadin(Player/Manager) Latchman Singh.

Lower East Bank Lions: Johnny Azeez (Captain), Basil Persaud, Ronald Jaisingh, Clement Archer, Sewnarine Kalicharan, Rudy Jairam ( Player/Manager), Nigel Bissu, Ramautar Bissoon, Roy Persaud, Dennis Mangru, Rafiq Alli, Sahadeo Hardaiow, Latchman Persaud, Rakesh Gangaram, and Deonarine Debidial.

Georgetown Buffaloes: Sherlock Atwell (player/manager), Lynden Lyght, Gladwin Brandis, Edward Burnette, Andre Legall, Fitzroy Colley, Balat Mangru, Linden Wilson, Anthony Rigby, Curt Caesar, Reginald Rodrigues, Linden Gilbert, Troy Halley, Alfred Mentore (Captain), and Gavin Nedd.

Georgetown Bears: Vijay Gangaram, Surendra Heralall, Carlos Reid (captain), Manoj Lall, Y. A Persaud, Mohamed Najar, Orin Bailey, Caramchand Rambarran, Rajesh Singh, Rudolph Chapman, Riaz Hussain,  Feroze Khan, Denis Mangru, Omar Persaud, David Harper, and Nazimul Drepaul (Player/Manager).

Players can be added to the team list during the preliminary rounds but no player would be allowed to participate in the semi- finals and finals if they did not play in the preliminaries.

All matches will begin at 13:00 hours. Each round will see four matches playing at the same time at different venues.

Today’s fixtures:

East bank Lions vs. East Coast Bulls at Lusignan; Georgetown Bears vs. West Coast Seals at DCC; East Coast Tigers vs. GT Buffaloes at Enmore and West Bank Mavericks vs. East Bank Colts at GCC.



Around the Web