Garraway elected president of West Dem football association

Nigel Garraway was elected president of the West Demerara Football Association at the entity’s electoral congress held on Wednesday at the Den Amstel Community Centre.

Garraway, who at the time had been the acting association’s president, emerged ahead of Guyana Football Federation Vice President of Administration, Rawleston Adams in the voting process by an 11-7 score line.

In the battle for the First Vice-President position, Orin Ferrier defeated Winston Manjet 13-4 while in the second Vice-President contest Christine Smith won unopposed.

Elson Khairattie was elected to the secretary position unopposed whilst Denise Lovell was installed as the association’s treasure unimpeded. Anthony Abrams was elected assistant/secretary treasurer unopposed after Tondra Thomas, Colin ‘BL’ Aaron, Adrian Giddings and Ivland Maithland declined their nomination.

In addition, O’Neil Heywood and Kurt Austin were elected unopposed to the organising secretary and public relations officer positions, respectively.

Around the Web