Cyclists to set roads alight for Deepavali

The cream of the nation’s wheelsmen will light up the Seawall Bandstand as well as the open roads tomorrow (Deepavali) and Monday when the 16th annual Troy Humphrey Memorial and the Carlton Wheelers 55-mile cycling events pedal off.

Organized by the Roraima Bikers Club (RBC), the eight-race Troy Humphrey Memorial programme will roll off tomorrow at 10:00hrs and will see the top seniors, juniors, females, BMX, Mountain Bikers and veterans vying for supremacy.

The winner of the feature 30-lap race will pocket $25,000.

Alanzo Greaves
Alanzo Greaves
 Raynauth Jeffrey
Raynauth Jeffrey
Robin Persaud
Robin Persaud

National riders Alanzo Greaves, Raynauth Jeffrey, Robin Persaud, Orville Hinds, Marlon ‘Fishy’ Williams, Warren ‘40’ McKay, Paul DeNobrega and others  will be aiming for top honours in that event.

As customary, the top six finishers will pocket cash prizes. Ten sprint prizes will also be up for grabs.

Other races carded for tomorrow include:


BMX   Open (3 Laps)                   –    1 – 3 places Cash

Mountain Bikes (5 Laps)            –     1 – 3 places Cash prizes, Vets (Under 50 Yrs)- 6 Laps       –     1 – 3 places Cash prizes, Vets. (Over 50 Yrs)- 6 laps         –     1 – 3 places Cash prizes Team Time Trials (4 Laps)          –     1 – 3 places Cash prizes Females       (5 laps)                    –     1 – 2 places Cash prizes

Junior/Juvenile – 20 Laps           –      1 – 4 places Cash prizes.

Six sprint prizes will be on offer in the junior/juvenile event.

On Monday, the cyclists will then take their talents to the open roads from 07:30hrs to compete again for lucrative prizes.

Seniors and juniors riders will start from Homestretch Avenue, proceed to Dora on the Linden Highway and return to Craig for the finish.

Veterans, mountain bikers and females will start from Homestretch Avenue, continue to Splashmin’s Fun Park and return to Craig for the finish.

The first six senior finishers, three juniors, veterans, mountain bikers and two females will all receive prizes.  Eight sprint prizes will be won during the race which is sponsored by United Bike Shop.





Around the Web