Fitzgerald wins Trophy Stall Diwali darts tournament

Sudesh Fitzgerald emerged the overall champion when the Guyana Darts Association (GDA) Trophy Stall Pre-Diwali tournament concluded on Friday at the Malteenos Sports Club pavilion, Thomas Lands.

Fitzgerald clinched the men’s singles title by defeating Sherwyn Greene in a best of five series 3-1. In the earlier matches, Fitzgerald defeated Leonardo Butcher and Anil Lachman by identical 2-0 scores in the semi-final and quarterfinal rounds respectively.

Greene booked his place in the final following a semi-final defeat of Mark Persaud by a 2-1 margin.

In the luck of the draw doubles, the team of the Fitzgerald and Melissa Smart emerged victorious after defeating the duo of the Mark Persaud and Colin France 2-0.

Fitzgerald and Smart booked their place in the final following wins over the teams of Butcher and Delon Correia and Lalchand Rambarose and Nicholas Seetaram in the semi-final and quarter final stages correspondingly.

The duo of Persaud and France earned their spot in the final following wins over the teams of Mary Correia and Luis Ramirez-Merlano and Melissa Adams and Greene in the semi-final and quarterfinal rounds respectively.

In the women’s division, Adams came out victorious after defeating S. Hyles 2-1. Adams after surrendering the first game to Hyles, stormed back to take the next game to force a deciding match. In the final matchup, Adams would check out with a double 17 to take the title.

In the earlier semi-final round, Adams defeated M. Correia 2-0 while Hyles eliminated M. Smart by an identical margin.



Around the Web